Posted by: Daisy | April 18, 2012

Slap the pretty out

I think it’s safe to say that I know a lot of beautiful, gorgeous, fit women.  As a fitness instructor, you can not help but see and know lots of people who others would kill to have their body and looks.  With that in mind, I am always appalled by the number and percent of beautiful women with so many self-esteem issues.  It seems like a never-ending cycle as some women are never quite happy with what they’ve got and are always striving to improve themselves.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m all about improving.. but this?  This is a bit much.

Maybe it’s because I’m like momma hen to my fellow instructors since I’m a decade or two older…. or maybe it’s because I grew up thinking I looked like crap, and needed to hone my other skills – I’m really not sure.  I only know that it behooves me to listen to gorgeous women say even two words about what body part, or body image they are not happy with.  Shut up Miss Universe, you look gorgeous and I think many others would agree with me. Just what’s the deal? Did someone say something to you? Did someone post a pic of you without makeup?  What?

Everyone knows about the gorgeous teen who relied on her looks, and never learned to use anything but her looks.  Perhaps Plain Jane may be a better alternative for the teen years to help an individual grow into a better adjusted adult who learns and acquire skills that will work later in life.  Look at Tyra Banks – I truly admire how she’s developed a fabulous business using her looks and celebrity status so that decades later, she’s still raking in the big bucks.  What are all her pretty model peers up to these days?

Can we not get over our book covers and understand that looks are fleeting, and not important?  The End.

Sigh. I know all the guys understand this.  They all have a friend, girlfriend, wife etc who they’ve been telling for years that they are stunning, and she just doesn’t get it.  I’d just like to take a timeout once in a while to slap her in the face and give her a reality check.  Maybe I could even slap the pretty out of them, so they can learn to rely on other skills.  How about it?  Shall we round up our pretty low self esteem friends tomorrow and slap them ugly?

- Daisy

P.S. Hi again.  I know it’s been a very long time.  I miss you too.  I won’t slap you though.  I promise.  (Unless you’re Miss Universe with low self esteem).  Then I may pull my hand back.


Responses

  1. I like being a plain Jane, i don’t have to worry about losing them haha


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

