Posted by: Daisy | August 30, 2012

Back to school?

No, it can’t be.  No way.  Not possible.  The summer could not have disappeared that quickly.

I had lunch with a friend from high school the other day.  It’s been decades.  I caught up with someone else from that nether region of schooling.  I mentioned to the young folks going to university that I’ve been out of school longer (or the same?) as I ever went to school for.  That shut them up. :)

Those schooling years will stay with you forever.  It has been decades and yet I still remember random “stuff” with great fondness and sometimes, with words that have a less positive connotation.  And with this knowledge, I’m in a bit of a panic mode as I realize my son is starting Grade 4 soon.  He’s 9 years old, and I wonder how the time flew so quickly.  I remember Grade 4.  Decades from now, is he still going to be friends with some of these same kids we’re seeing/talking about?  Is he going to meet up with them over lunch and laugh about the things they did in Grade 4?  Will they apologize to someone years later when they realize what they did wasn’t so nice?

I’m not sure if I want to remember it all with the clarity that Harry Potter does with the others’ memories, however, if someone invented a wand, with the ability to pull it out and store it, I just might endulge in capturing, and reviewing certain memories over again.  I don’t want to be young again.  I’d just like to slow down time a bit once in a while so I can smell the roses more.

- Daisy

Responses

  1. Now that the children are teenagers, summer is the month when the house is empty. We’re quite glad to have it pass, us old fogeys.

    • hey mulled vine, it’s been a very long time. glad to see you here. :-)

      good to think of summer from a different perspective.. thanks for reminding me


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

