Posted by: Daisy | December 17, 2013

A number of “I can’t believe…”

I have many reasons why I haven’t been posting.  And a very important reason why I’m posting today.  You will have to excuse my blathering as I have a lot of thoughts in my head and it may all come out in one big lump of poo.  Sorry in advance.  I promise once this one is done, the next ones will be a bit more coherent.

My employer on Friday, Dec 13, 2013 went into receivorship and over 600 employees suddenly found themselves unemployed.  My husband also works for this same company so we’re both unemployed.  People feel sorry for us – hell, I feel sorry for us too, but I’m sure it will all work out.  The last few days, I’ve suddenly “caught up” on those items – those PERSONAL items that have been neglected for oh so long.  It’s sad, but true.

#5 – Finally got a haircut!  Wow, I look younger.  Or maybe I just feel younger.

#4 – Decluttered various rooms – (OH MY THIS WAS A BIG TASK).  Family Room, Front closet, Linen closet, Basement toys, etc.

#3 – Called my water heater company about a letter they sent me Sept 1

#2 – Went to the bank to reset my pin (didn’t use my primary card for months!)

#1 – Called the company about my shares, from a letter they sent me back in January

 

Hubby did a few things too

#5 – Finally brought the patio furniture in – through all the snow

#4 – Fixed up the cupboard with the broken door

#3 – Cleared up the garage (so the patio furniture could find space)

#2 – Contacted the car company about the letter he got months and months ago

#1 – Is it possible he’s getting snow tires put on my car right now?  :)

I’m determined to find my groove again and the fact that I can even write anything says that it’s not nearly as lost as it was only a mere 3 days ago.  In only a few short days, I’ve dramatically decluttered physically, and started to declutter mentally to the point where… I remember the Answer Starts With Me.

- Daisy

 

Responses

  1. Hey D, After my job loss, I went top to bottom in my house and de-cluttered several times. Made several trips to Good Will, filled my recycling bin for months, put stuff on my front lawn… Good way to clear the way…physically, psychologically…for a new start.
    Stew
    “Solve problems. Make art (writing). Think deeply.” Susan Cain

    • Thanks Stew – it is very “cleansing” and we’ve got bags and continue to fill stuff for charity.

      Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

