Posted by: Daisy | May 3, 2008

Loving Kiwi’s and Sheep

I went to New Zealand a few years ago and absolutely loved the experience – it was so different (and yet the same).  Here’s what I think of New Zealand:

  • they export a lot of Sheep – the best stuff.
  • they export a lot of Mussles – the best stuff.
  • they export a lot of Kiwi Fruit – the best stuff – that means if you want the best tasting sheep, mussles and kiwi fruit, it’s probably on a plane out of NZ and on it’s way to other destinations. 
  • tourism is hot.
  • this tiny country imports just about everything else.
  • Kiwi’s are either the people (New Zealander’s), or the bird.  Don’t refer to the fruit as a Kiwi or you’ll get confused looks. 

Okay, besides the food – what else?

  • Countryside – all the plants and trees are different from Canada – where are the evergreens?!!!  What a beautiful country and it’s no wonder that some major films and TV shows have been filmed there.
  • Sheep, sheep and more sheep- holy sheep!  Baaaaaaa.
  • Lord of the Rings – I was on a boat with Sam-wise and didn’t know it at the time!  There were only a handful of us (maybe 12-15 people?) and we were on the way to see glow-worm caves and I knew he was an actor in the film LOTR, but I didn’t realize he was one of the main characters.  Although everyone knew he was an actor, there were no papparazi around in the midst and calm of where we were, nor did any of us pester him.
  • Accent – I could listen and enjoy the accent for hours on end.
  • All Blacks – okay, this would be my husband’s favourite thing – the amazing Rugby team rocks and scares the beejesus out of me when they do their Hakka prior to playing a game.
  • Fittest People on the planet – to be fair, I have not been to that many places in the world, so my comparison is likely not that fair, however, I was amazed at how everyone of all ages is engaged in physical activity.  It’s as if the entire country is made for doing something and that doing is fitness related.  It also has the best fitness gear – so much so that I order my clothes from New Zealand.
  • Queenstown – rockin’ great place offering adrenalin adventures including bungy-jumping
  • Milford Sound – oh my – just plain breathless is all I can say.  In fact, I’ve got so many beautiful photos of NZ, however, they are all on film (gasp!).  Here’s a stunning one of Mitre Peak, Milford Sound, New Zealand.
  • Bic Runga – how could I forget such a beautiful voice?  No, I didn’t get to see her, but I suppose I fell in love with her music.

What could be better?

  • Kiwis have the same brain drain problem that Canada has.  In fact, the relationship between New Zealand and Australia is strikingly similar to Canada and the United States.
  • Residential homes are extremely energy inefficient compared to Canadian standards.  They rarely get below 0 Celsius weather so energy efficiency and insulating from the cold is not something they plan for – housing is just very different in New Zealand, and a bit of a shock to me. 

At the end of the day, I would love to return to that country at some point.  Unfortunately, I still have not finished with my travels in Canada yet and my own country is my priority for now – I have yet to finish my cross-country driving trip to the east coast and I so want to put my feet into the Atlantic Ocean before this decade is done…

– Daisy

Responses

  1. I’ve heard it’s a nice place, but I don’t think I could ever get over (under?) the feeling of being upside-down.

    I guess that means you wouldn’t want to go on a rocket ship either then? 😉 – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

