Posted by: Daisy | May 12, 2008

Bye-bye Type A

I’m surprised. I took a quick Type A/B personality quiz and was stunned by the results.  61.  That’s a bit more A than B, but definately not a runaway A like I used to be?!!!  What happened to what used to define me?  I *softened*, you say?  Oh yeah.  I *softened*.

Okay, the truth is I have not said good-bye to my Type A side, I’ve only tempered it to a more manageable level where I can actually see the benefits of both sides and realize they are just as green, except a different kind of green.  I’ve learned to R-E-L-A-X.  Ask my husband.  He’ll tell you I still get things done, but I’m oh-so-much-easier-to-have-around than I used to be.  My driven, competitive, sometimes ruthless side has given way to a much more relaxed version of me. 

I know, I know, I’m still Type A, and I’m no where near where he’s at (sometimes he’s so relaxed,  I think he’s dead), however, I guess I’m just trying to say that it is nice to be more balanced.  Having both means you can choose between the best of both worlds depending on what’s required in the situation.

Talk about having the right tools.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Daisy,

    I was reading through your blog today, and I wanted to say I am so proud of you! I am a certified personality trainer and it sounds like you are the typical Choleric (leader) personality whereas your husband is the Phlegmatic (everybody’s best friend) personality. For someone who is very Type A (Choleric), it is hard to learn to relax and ‘soften,” but it is key to getting along with all of the other people in your life. Keep up the great work!

    Andrea Chevalier
    Certified Personality Trainer
    http://www.andreachevalier.com

    Thank you for the visit and the positive words – you’re absolutely right, it is difficult to shed and soften those traits, and I see a world of difference in being able to do so. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

