Posted by: Daisy | May 13, 2008

Where is the love?

Boy do I feel loved.  I had a fabulous Mother’s Day where my boys (husband and child) gave me the things that make my heart go pitter-patter.  Forget the chocolates and flowers.  As much as I enjoy that once in a while, those traditional items are only for non-Hallmark dates like, Friday-just-because. 

No.  For Mother’s Day, I got breakfast in bed. 
Wait, I’m not done.  It was pancakes with whipped cream. 
That’s not all.  It was REAL whipped cream.  Yum. 
That’s not all.  I got the most beautiful card with the words “I love you” in his beautiful handwriting.
That’s not all.  It included the Matrix DVD.
That’s not all.  It also included Season 3 DVD of BSG

I could not have asked for more. This Mother’s Day takes the pancakes.

But wait. That’s not all. I heard today from someone that my husband waxed poetic about me. And anyone who knows him, knows he would never in a million years find a way to use that phrase.  My hubby of few words said he believed I could have been a great athlete when I was younger if my parents had encouraged sports. My parents encouraged other things when I was young, and discouraged the sports side only for me to discover it well into my 20’s.  He said that I have a gift that would have done very well in the school-age and teenage years.  Knowing what I thought while growing up (“I can’t do sports”) because of my seeming lack of skills, and knowing what I’ve done with my new-found fitness life is a bit of a miracle it seems, and I actually believe that too.  Maybe I do have a gift.  Maybe I could have done well then.  Oh well.  Move on.

I guess what surprised me was that he told someone this.  Wow.  Boy do I feel loved.  Thank you Hubby.  Thank you for the support.  You’re not expecting something fabulous for Father’s Day, are you… ?

– Daisy

Leave a Reply

Categories

