Posted by: Daisy | May 14, 2008

Personal Paradise

I found my personal paradise in Drumheller, Alberta. 

My photos do not do it justice, nor does my short video.  Drumheller is a small town a short drive from Calgary and it is littered with dinosaur memorabilia for tourists like me.  The first time I visited, the drive to Drumheller simply sent my heart racing as I waited anxiously for the adventure I knew I was about to embark on.  It was almost like I was watching a movie from the windshield of my car as I watched the road signs pointing the way.  I can not begin to describe just what it was about this land that spoke to me.  Was it the hoodoos, the general landscape, the vastness of its beauty, the knowledge that dinosaur fossils were all around?  I don’t know, and it didn’t really matter.  I was in love with it all.

The Royal Tyrell Museum is filled with stunning showcases of dinosaur fossils and have even been graced by the likes of Brad and Angelina a few years ago.  I’m sure the papparazi, if they were following, would have also gotten lost in the beauty of their surroundings.  These badlands simply took my breath away.  So much so that when I returned to Calgary for business, I had to take an extra day, just to marvel in the beauty of another side trip to my personal paradise.

As a general rule, we don’t do this enough – take side trips and enjoy all there is to enjoy in this world.  If you’re ever in the area, or considering a trip to Alberta, check it out and if you want to read more about the drive getting there, try this fictional account.

– Daisy

Leave a Reply

Categories

