Posted by: Daisy | May 21, 2008

It’s been a good 7 years

Yesterday, my car battery died. It’s been a good 7 years.

The death was a disconcerting one to be honest, and I really wasn’t sure what to make of it. Even as we described to other more mechanically inclined people, they seemed to agree it was a strange situation – we couldn’t even put the car into neutral to push it out of the way. Even worst, this occurred with my 4 year old in the car too. I watched the clock as we fast approached his bedtime and dreaded the upcoming meltdown from him as he would lose his patience and all semblance of a well-behaved kid. Afterall, we hadn’t had dinner yet, it was late, he was stuck in a car and we didn’t know how much longer it’d be before we could be home. Fortunately, he took it well and enjoyed the adventure as we ate egg sandwiches from the gas station.

As it turned out, the only way for me to describe my car’s issues is the way that my boy would describe it. “There’s a lot of gunk around the thing, and daddy and pop had to clean off the gunk. But taking the gunk off won’t make it rust because they’ll check it. And going through the car wash won’t clean the gunk because it is under the hood and the car wash only cleans the outside.”  HUH?  Exactly.

It actually doesn’t matter what was wrong with it.  After dealing with it last night and all of this morning, I now have a rental car (which I’m loving) and I will get back my car tomorrow. It will have some new parts along with some old ones. The battery, I’ve already said bye-bye to and I bid it a good farewell.

That battery and car have treated me well. It really has been a good 7 years and it’s a great car that I wrote more about in Driving Miss Daisy. However, I’m not sure how much more I want to invest in it.  At what point do I trade it (or the other one) in for a newer model?  Seems such a shame though. Seems harsh even? How can you trade in a car that’s been so good to you? It isn’t as though I’m ready just yet to do anything rash – afterall, I’m spending a good chunk of change giving it some new expensive parts and associated labour. However, it is certainly something I’ll need to consider, and it is better to consider it now, then while under duress.

I love my car. It’s treated me well and I want our relationship to last forever, but sometimes, people and their cars will just have to part ways when the relationship no longer works well for both parties. No point in getting to the point where I resent it, right? Hmm. It sounds as though I have a strange relationship with my car when honestly, I don’t. I only realize that I can see many parallells and similarities in life.

If a relationship isn’t working, there’s no point in taking it to the point of resentment. Work on it, fix it, do whatever you have to do. But don’t ignore it until you resent each other. I promise I won’t take my car to the point of resentment. Here’s looking at you babe, here’s driving you, and here’s to more good times. There will always be a special place in my heart for you, my first car. Cheers to you Civic! 😉

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Hi Daisy! Writer Chick sent me and I’m glad she did. I like it here. My car is called Sam and I want him to last as long as petrol (gas) does even though he’s quite old. My previous car wasn’t an arrival point like that for me. I loved it but it wasn’t offended when I traded it in. “Glad to be of service,” it said and looked towards its brand new future.

    Hilary, thanks so much for visiting. I hope you’ll keep coming back! I didn’t mention it in my post, however, my car’s name is Sela. Sigh. I wasn’t sure anyone else named their car?!! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

