Posted by: Daisy | May 22, 2008

The River Takes You

When you choose to float, the river simply takes you wherever it wishes. You go wherever the flow goes and at whatever speed your surroundings are going at. You accelerate and decelerate at the same pace as the river turning whichever way it turns. It takes you.

You can choose how you’d like to navigate the river. You can go with the flow, or you can choose to swim upstream, across or even under. You could even get a powerboat or decide to get out of the river and go through the forest. It’s your choice. If you don’t like your situation, stop going with the flow and change your tactics. Take charge and decide where you want to go.

See you on the other side.
– Daisy

Responses

  1. I have been thinking about this one, and I wonder … is there only one destination for the river? Given that all of us on this planet are going to return from whence we came, me thinks yes: So in the simplest sense that is our destiny. And along this river, of course we can choose our experiences, but for me personally, when there has been resistance, going against the current so to speak, it’s generally because I wasn’t paying attention to my core. It’s my mind that wants to control the path … which usually just ends up in a rented boat going around in circles on the river … and eventually, I get where I was always going. Personally, I am letting go and letting the river take me.

    I never thought of it this way. You’re right. For some people, that is the right approach. For others, allowing the river to take them means when you’re at a crossroads, and you’re not sure what to do, you continue with what you’ve always done. I know for me, everytime I’ve jumped in with my eyes wide open into something brand new and different, I realize, that choice has always been true to who I am. When I’m too fearful of making the change, that’s when I’m allowing the river to take me. So, I’m going to try and not let fear, dictate my life. Happy flowing. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

