Posted by: Daisy | May 29, 2008

Blogging Gains and Losses

Someone sent me this fabulous (warning: long) article written by Emily Gould regarding her experiences blogging and sharing her life in the online space.  She takes it to a whole other level but even so, I think it is interesting and applies to other bloggers.

There have been times where I delete sentences as fast as I type them because it occurs to me that others may not want me to share some of that information.  Afterall, they are not the ones in control over what words are placed here, and they’re not about to write their own rebuttals (not that anyone would need one here).  I end up making a judgement call on how important the message is, or how badly I want to express that message in comparison to how important privacy may be to those who I may write about.  I then also consider how I may get the same message across either without referring to them, or, reducing the details to protect their privacy further.

Freedom of expression is important to me, but I don’t want to upset the “real” people – you know, the ones who have to actually see, talk to, and live with me.  They are afterall, the most important ones, aren’t they?  Navigating this fineline can be a bit of a tight-rope at times, so balance carefully.

It helps when you have supportive friends who don’t get upset.

It also helps when you don’t write negatively about people.

Phew.  I guess I’m lucky to be me.  And if you’re seriously wondering how far bloggers can take it, read Emily Gould’s article.  Enjoy!  🙂

– Daisy

Leave a Reply

Categories

