Posted by: Daisy | June 6, 2008

Death of a Dryer

My dryer just died.  Last night, it decided it had put in a useful life, and the motor decided enough is enough and it is time.  No more tumbling.  No more lost socks.  Finished.  Done.  Kaputz.

“Dearly beloved, we are gathered here today to remember fondly all the years the dryer worked hard without complaining, during those late nights and early mornings when everyone else in the house was asleep.  She tumbled and gently heated and tried her best to keep clothes from shrinking.  She worked the hours she was asked without complaint working effectively with her companion, the washer who stood by her side.  Together, they provided the family with clean, dry clothes and she will be dearly missed.”

Okay, back to my needs and wants.  I need clean dry clothes.  Phone calls later to our trustworthy appliance guy and I find myself again shelling additional big bucks for more essentials, just like I did with my car recently. Yet, with every sad, goodbye, there is a new beginning.  HELLO New Energy-Efficient Gas Dryer!  I can’t wait to meet you.  Before we purchased this house, we knew we would eventually replace the electric dryer with a natural gas one, and so we had the foresight to get all our natural gas lines ready at once.  We just never anticipated it would happen this quickly, but now, I’m looking forward to doing the drying more efficiently.  I wonder what the washer will think of the new younger model dryer.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Yay, a new dryer. Far out. And natural gas is the best – I never cared for the electric ones – though I’m not sure why.

    BTW, I was looking for that post on gas prices that you mentioned on my post about gas prices and I can’t find it. Point me in the right direction?
    Annie

    I’ve always loved gas dryer and front loading washers.. they are more efficient, gentler on clothes and use less water. I’m not sure if the gas dryer per se dries any better than the electric one, but I’ve always been a snob that way! 🙂 I sent you an email about the pumping gas/pumping water post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

