Posted by: Daisy | June 13, 2008

High Definition Life

Do you have a HD TV? I don’t. My TV is a 27 inch that’s over a decade old. If it were a child, it’d be in Grade 7. The TV’s speakers are starting to go, and I have to turn it up to the high 20’s and 30’s in order to hear the dialogue. When watching movies, I will turn on the extra speakers so that I don’t miss anything. It is the only TV in the house. It is my very first and only TV. (I’m sounding nostalgic, aren’t I?)

Since I’m such an advocate for using your senses and experiencing things in technicolour, it is amusing that I would not have something as simple as a good quality, fully functional TV. You’d think the images along with the sound quality would take me to the edge as part of my ‘basic’ life, yet it doesn’t. For the past few weeks, I have watched in total 1 hour per week for about 2 weeks and last week, it was only 45 minutes because I missed the first bit of BSG. Don’t get me wrong, I’d LOVE to get one, but it is currently not a priority.

Unfortunately for me, other things decided to break down and cause me grief and money. My car, my dryer, and now the latest addition: my back door. Kaching, kaching, kaching!

Like everyone else, these are unplanned expenses that I know I will simply have to find a way to pay for. Staying calm when you’d rather use a baseball bat can be quite simple. I think about what going beserk and wailing will do for me. Will I get my door replaced for less? Will it get done any faster? Will I feel any better? In my case, no. I stay calm because I see no real benefit to railing at the gods.  (Okay, sometimes, I do feel better if I really smash something hard but that soon passes.) Instead, I’ve realized sometimes you’ve got to roll with the punches.  Deal with it. And move on.

And when I’m finished with the baseball bat, I usually come to remember that I am blessed with so many wonderful things in my life. If I look back to harder times, even then, there was much to be thankful for. I’m not sure where dreams of a HD TV have gone, however, I am still living a High Definition Life. Ultimately, isn’t that more important than how great the view is on the tube?

– Daisy

Leave a Reply

Categories

