Posted by: Daisy | June 27, 2008

Molly Maid and Martha Stewart, oh my

I proclaimed today that in the last few weeks, I have all of a sudden become a little bit of Molly Maid and Martha Stewart rolled into one.  Hallelujah!  For anyone who knows me, you’ll know that I’m on the other end of the Molly/Martha spectrum – it is not who I am normally.  However, life changes, and sometimes, the change allows you to try things on for size.

The truth is, I’ve let my Molly and Martha qualities and skills slide dramatically in the last few years as I’ve been focusing on other things.  With the new-found time on my hands, I’ve found that what has all of a sudden become very high on my priority list is getting the house in order.  Oh yes.  Cleaning up a bit.  Quite a bit.  Oh yes.  Painting too.  Doors, trim, and even painting, like art or what would you call that?  And where does Martha come in?  Well, wait until you get a look at the personalized loot bags I came up with!

Okay, Martha is probably giving you an exaggerated view of the loot bag – it doesn’t actually look THAT pretty.  However, I would venture to say it has a ton of creativity and personality; even Michael had a grand time helping me put them all together.  It involved quite a lot of ‘arts and crafts’ and the final product is very personal and personalized.  In the words of Michael, “that’s so COOOOOL, do you know what would make it even COOOOLER?” as he’d offer additional ideas on things to do and create.

I am thrilled I took the time to 1) get creative, 2) get personal, 3) get personalized – I think the folks will enjoy the unique loot bags (which by the way, aren’t even bags).

– Daisy

P.S.  Before you think, ‘hey cool painting done by the kid’, this one was done by me using kid’s paint on kid’s easel, in sunlight on my driveway, on, no not canvas, but newsprint.  It started as abstract, and then began to look like an owl, so I guess it’s an owl with one angry eye as Michael says.  Enjoy!

Responses

  1. “Animal crackers, and cocoa to drink. That is the finest of suppers, I think; when I’m grown up and can have what I please I think I shall always insist upon these.” – Christopher Morley, author & journalist

    🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

