Posted by: Daisy | July 7, 2008

Disconnected

I promised myself that I would never write one of those apologies for not writing in a while.  Instead, I’ll write about my experiences of not writing.  I’ve been physically and mentally so busy that I have been rarely connected to a computer.  I’ve been on the road, on the subway, out and about, without a blackberry, without email, and without a phone.  Some days, it feels as though I took out the internet IV, and I’m really not sure what do without it.  I’ve lost the ability to communicate – the ability to email or call Anyone.  Anywhere.  Anytime.  Many conversations go like this, Them:  “Why don’t you call when you get there”, Me: “Remember, I don’t have a phone.  Why don’t we meet at X place at Y time?”; Them:  “Huh……. Oh.  Okay.” as they try to remember how things used to be done before cell phones.

Being unconnected is good.  Isn’t it?  Afterall, I used to avoid being ‘found’ like the plague.  I wanted to control access to my time and only turned on my cell phone when I was making an outgoing call – no one could actually reach me for the longest time!  That rule changed though and became, anyone could reach me anytime between the hours of 8am to 9pm.  It even included silly calls Saturday morning regarding a customer who’s house was flooding.  If your house is flooding, you should get out and call the insurance company.  Or someone who cares.  Oops, inside voice.  Being unconnected is good.  Isn’t it? 

I’m actually not sure about that answer.  I don’t know if it is a good thing or bad thing for me.  Too much of anything, can not be good, and having the technology and capability, while ensuring we don’t abuse it, is sometimes difficult to balance.

In the meantime, I’ve found myself quite disconnected and I have not made a decision on phone or email.  I’m not sure that’s what I really need so, for now, I choose to stay disconnected.  I’ll try to make sure I spend a bit more time on the computer again and make every second count.  Oh, and I’ll write while I’m connected!

– Daisy

Leave a Reply

Categories

