Posted by: Daisy | July 24, 2008

Generation Gap

I was having a conversation with some other ladies who were, sigh, younger than me.  They were only about 5-10 years younger and none had children and they began talking about the thought of having kids and how much the world has changed and how difficult and scary it must be to raise children now.

I told them this conversation is probably the exact same one our parents, and grandparents and great grandparents had about their children.  I don’t even have to wait for my teeth to fall out before saying in my granny voice “I remember when the price of bread was less than a dollar and minimum wage was less than $4 an hour.”  There.  I’ve said it.  Granny Daisy ‘remembers when’ while Grandchildren roll their eyes.

Life has changed.  There’s probably more man-made holes, tattoos, cell phones and email addresses per capita than ever before.  So what?  Life will only keep changing, so you may as well go with it!  Here’s something I’ve come to really appreciate that’s relatively new (remember new for me is last decade) – I’m loving mashups.  There are *so* many good ones, so here’s just a few I’ve come to enjoy.  And yes, I like to listen to music while writing.

My favourite these days is the first one.

Let me think about My Humps
Tick Toxic
Every car you chase
Sexyback Sunglasses
Enya smacks my Brit up
Eleanor Rigby Reggae Mash Up

Enjoy the music!
– Daisy

P.S.  I’m going on vacation where there’s no phone, TV, email and such.  I’ll be B-A-C-K in a couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

Categories

