Posted by: Daisy | August 15, 2008

L-O-L-A, Lola

Do you remember the time when you were like the guy who met Lola?  Young, green behind the ears, naive, and simply out of their element?

I remember first hearing this song probably in the mid 80’s (was Cherry Cola from the 70’s?  I thought it was in late 70’s or early 80’s?) and got such a kick out of it.  And as I listen to it again now decades later, I realize that some things just don’t change that much.  This song applies just as much here in 2008 as it did in the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s.  Now, that’s a classic.

And although we may not find ourselves in this situation or one like The Crying Game, I still find myself in situations where I am still young, green, naive and out of my element in my journey of life.  I guess I’m a classic too.

Here’s to stumbling into situations that humble us into knowing that we’ve still got a lot to learn.  A drink of champagne, to Lola.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Oh, I love this song. I loved it from the first time I heard it. Yeah, green, naive and stumbling – I find myself there a lot. Even now. And I think I hope I always do – something about it seems right. I never want cyncysm to take over, I’d rather be thought a fool.

    Annie

    Yes, I sometimes feel like “I left home just a week before” and will likely be there much of the time – it’s called learning and I think that’s why it feels right. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

