Posted by: Daisy | September 3, 2008

Expanding Comfort Zone

Apparently I’m sometimes difficult to read.  When there’s a misunderstanding, I am always a little surprised because I am so direct and to the point, that I wonder how there could have been any confusion, but there it was in black and white.  And even though I was surprised, I knew it was true.  I am difficult to read because I have been able to expand my comfort zone well beyond where my small, sacred self really feels the core to be.

I have learned to adjust and be comfortable in situations that I never used to be comfortable in, and by golly, even learned to do it well.  So well, in fact, that people assume that where I spend my time is my natural self.  This is the person I am, without realizing that yeah, I’m able to be here and enjoy it, but my natural sacred self isn’t actually right here.  Example:  I am an introvert who gets energized by discussions with small groups of people and cringe at the idea of large parties, yet I teach fitness classes all the time to groups of up to 40+ people.  How does that actually make sense?  Yet, I know it does and can see how this helps me be more whole while also confusing people who only see one side and assume certain things about me.

So, am I just being a fake?  I don’t think so.  In fact, I realize now, part of my core is the ability to venture out and become comfortable in situations that would have made me cringe before.  It is the capability to be and do whatever I want, if I so choose to take that challenge.  Like everyone else, I have good days and not so good days, and on those great days, I believe in my heart that I can be and do whatever I choose.  On those not so good days, my only doubt is not in the ability, but in the motivation of whether I’m willing to sacrifice the hard work in order to achieve it.

Do you believe in your own capabilities?  Can you extend outside your comfort zone?  What would the benefits be for you?  Is that dream worth it?

– Daisy

Leave a Reply

Categories

