Posted by: Daisy | September 7, 2008

How do you see it?

Let’s say for example, a young boy was offered something he didn’t previously have.  From a quality perspective, it wasn’t the highest quality, but shabby, it certainly was not.  Also, this item was something of value and could represent freedom and the journey towards adulthood for a young boy.  What would you think of the item?  Is it a gift, or not?  Remember, the quality isn’t great, but it is an item of good value representing some things that are intangible, like growing up.

I thought it sounded like a gift.  Yet others thought it sounded cheap (why would anyone want that?  It’s poor quality and will start him on the wrong foot).  I suppose I only saw the good of the situation and how he was offered something so grown up, that it never occurred to me that the quality of it would be an issue.  Afterall, it was over and above what he currently had, and he was more than welcome to decline it.  Yet other people only tend to see the problems with the gifts whether they are not the right colour, size, item, or price.

I thought about this reaction and thought, what is the benefit in seeing a gift negatively and unfortunately, I couldn’t really come up with some good benefits.  Instead I realized this approach made me think less of the giver and also impacted my own self-esteem.

I think I’d rather accept gifts as they are, and thank the giver for taking the time to think of me.

Am I off my rocker?  How do you see it?

– Daisy (P.S. If you want to know what the gift was, email me at daisystarts at gmail dot com)

Responses

  1. You are right in that you should only being seeing the “good” of the situation. It is a GIFT. Gifts should be appreciated in any form, not criticized. So no, I don’t think you are off your rocker. 🙂

    I am curious about what the gift was…

    Thanks for the visit Dave and the vote towards sanity! I’ve sent you an email regarding what the gift was. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

