Posted by: Daisy | September 10, 2008

My Buckets

The other day, I exclaimed to my spouse, “Do you know I’ve been talking about starting my own business for over 7 years?!”, to which he replied, “Actually, you’ve been talking about it for over 15 years.”

Oh my.  Has it been that long?

In the span of less than 5 hours, three people asked me if I had ever considered starting my own business.  It can not be a coincidence, can it?  Is this something so obvious, it’s bubbling out of me?

With that thought in mind, I began to think about my life and what may happen over the next 20 years.  Where will I be, and what will I be doing?  How about fast forward another 20-50 years.  What do I hope to do before I die?  Will I die with the last words on my breath, “I will start my own business, I just have to….”  Oh dear, I think I need to move forward.

There’s nothing like putting things in writing to get perspective, so I may as well think about my buckets and determine what are the 8 things I’d like to do before I die.  In no particular order:

#1 Start my own business.  The first one will be the hardest because as you can already see, I’ve taken 15 years of talking about it and the first one has yet to materialize.  Once I get over the initial hurdle, I know the next few businesses will just happen easily and I’ll likely look back and say, “what was I waiting for?”

#2 Observe my little one grow up.  Watch him become whoever he’s supposed to be with the hope that he grows up to be a happy, well adjusted man who appreciates his family, friends, and world around him.

#3 Make a difference.  You know how some people still remember that one special teacher who made a difference in their lives?  I’m not a teacher, but I hope that I can really make a difference in people’s lives.  I’m not going to put a number to this because it would be impossible, however, I know in my heart, this is something I’ve always wanted.  When I was a child, I thought I wanted to develop a new drug that could cure the world of something.  Now, I realize in addition to the physical ailments, we are also plagued by ailments of society that have resulted in poor, unhappy souls.  Perhaps instead of creating a cure for cancer, I need only design something that would change inner souls for the better. 

#4 Jump out of an airplane.  I have to feel what it’s like to free-fall, even if it’s only once.

#5 Travel and see old castles.  Partake in learning about the “history” that my spouse loves to see, plus spending time on the “geography” and scientific challenges of the area that I’m fond of.

#6 Never, ever stop writing.  I’ve started and stopped so many times in my life, and now that this space exists, I don’t have a reason to stop anymore.  I’ve learned to accept that writing is simply a part of me, and that it does not need to produce anything tangible like a report, or a book.  Writing does not always need a goal of being published – it can simply be about enjoying the act of writing and communicating. 

#7 Talk and Text.  I’m not talking mobile here, but I am referring to the need to stay in touch and communicate with people.  I hope that those from my past who I haven’t spent much time with lately, will understand and someday, if the timing is right, begin again, another phase of discovery and communications as we debate the world.  Those in the present, will continue to feed my fire for discussion, and those of the future, I can’t wait to hear what you’ve got to say.  This is about a hope for more communications, more discussions, and more thoughts and ideas that will certainly shape my life.

#8 Live Life Fully.  In case I’m not here tomorrow and able to finish my buckets, then I hope I will have no regrets about how I’ve lived my life because I hope that I will have lived every day the best way I could as if it could have been my last.  If I knew ahead of time that it were my last, then I’d really appreciate a huge steak, lobster, and shrimp dinner.  Hmm, perhaps I should have a celebratory dinner soon, just because.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Love that list … it’s not so far out there, that it might take 2 or 3 lifetimes to achieve, and it’s not just about getting, but giving, and experiencing life with your peoples. Nice!

    Thanks. I was thinking I might need another list with more ‘tangibles’ for those who think it too.. out there (fuzzy). Afterall, there’s all kinds of people – the 10,000 feet people and the on-the-ground and you know I’m both. At the same time. Ha ha. – Daisy

  2. If you are both, at the same time, that makes you about 10,000 feet tall with your head in the clouds, and feet on terra firma. 🙂

    Actually, I just seem to fly back and forth really quickly between the 2. I’m not sure my head is in the clouds, or my feet are quite grounded, but it’s good either way. – Daisy

  3. […] List – the Movie 10 11 2008 I finally saw the movie that inspired my bucket list and there were a few interesting things from the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

