Posted by: Daisy | October 10, 2008

Maniacs Sing

Back in the late 80’s, I was the only one amongst my friends who happened upon 10,000 Maniacs and absolutely fell madly and deeply in love with this song.  I loved her voice, the music, the lyrics and ultimately the song.  I’m not sure why not one friend joined me in this love for a group  because it was oh so very different from the popular bands at the time with their fluffy and bland lyrics which made hardly any sense at all.

I felt a bit like I had found gold, tried to tell others as it fell on uninterested ears.  They seemed to like it well enough – however, you know it is all about the purchase – none of them bought their albums.  Was the subject matter too difficult?  Was it just too grown up for young folks like me and my friends?  I suppose in the end I enjoyed this band all by myself and have worn out my original tape (gasp!) of In My Tribe.  One of these days, I’ll have to replenish it with a CD version.

I’ll also leave you with another song of theirs that simply takes me back.  Enjoy.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. oh my gosh ~ i loved them, this so takes me back 🙂

    Hey Darlene – so glad you enjoy them and it takes you back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

