Posted by: Daisy | October 21, 2008

Making Dinner

I don’t like to cook.  I never have.  I just like to eat.  I like it when other people cook.  I eat what they cook.

Once in a while, I’ll dream and cook up some yummy dinner and while enjoying it, I’ll pat myself on the back and tell myself, “That wasn’t so bad, now was it?  And it tastes pretty darn good too!”  What’s even cooler now is I’ll have my little guy right there with me, stirring and helping and at the end praising our efforts with the words “D-E-E-E-E-LICIOUS!”.

I get inspired by different things I see in the grocery store.  In this case, it started with a store-bought mild curry simmer sauce.  (Yes, a store-bought sauce – remember, I don’t normally cook, so there’s only so much I’m willing to venture forward with.)  Into the grocery cart went mushrooms, celery, tomatoes, carrots, chick peas, lentils, onions, and then the centre piece – tofu.  Oh yes.  As much as I enjoy eating chicken, I certainly don’t enjoy handling it if you know what I mean.  If I want chicken, I’ll wait for my husband to cook it.  So, I walked by the traditional white meat and went for the other white meat – medium firm tofu with healthy heart literally written all over it. 

Later that evening, with cutting board, knife and food in hand, we washed, cut and began cooking the food.  The best part was when the little guy realized tofu was going in, he exclaimed his love for tofu (yes, he loves it in all forms).  Like usual, I underestimated the amount of food I had been cutting up and ended up switching to a much larger pot – yeah – more food for another day!

When it was all done, I scooped a little bit of this aromatic concoction onto a bed of basmati rice for the little guy to try out.  He loved it and asked immediately for a whole lot more.  For the 2nd helping, he wanted more tofu, less veggies.  On my plate, I also had a side of stir fried chinese veggies too and we finished it all down with a glass of high protein soya milk.  Yum.

It always makes me smile when he enjoys a dinner that is not laden with fried anything and resembles a grown-up dinner.  It makes me think there is hope for children’s food tastes and they can and will enjoy other foods if you try.  I’m having trouble inspiring the veggie-lover in him (he seems to only love veggies in a salad) but I’ll keep trying.

I wonder what else might inspire me from the grocery store next time… please share any easier-than-boiling-water recipes for healthy dinners that make you go yum.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. easy and hard here

    Yes, some definately more involved than others. Thank you! 🙂

  2. I love it when kids eat healthy foods that are also yummy. My kids are pretty healthy eaters too, although, they do have their moments of weakness. Especially when it comes to chicken nuggets or pop tarts. Ewww…

    Are you kidding? I have my moments of weakness too! 🙂 – Daisy

  3. […] last week, I wrote about making dinner.  This week, here’s proof of another concoction that I made something yummy and healthy to […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

