Posted by: Daisy | October 30, 2008

Will you still love me tomorrow?

I thought this was an incredibly distinctive cover of the original song and makes me a little sad given the artist who is singing it.

Strengths and weaknesses are found in everyone, and my gut tells me that there are too many extremely talented people who are troubled in one way or another. Although celebrities seem to be the easy target, there are many other examples of non-celebrities who find themselves in the same situation. I wonder if there is something more to it on a macro level (and probability too) to show that people with extreme strengths must also have extreme weaknesses. You’ll likely heard of the incredible feats of autistic people, and how they have capabilities that we have difficulty comprehending. There are so many others. They are on an entirely different level, and yet many have trouble managing the day-to-day routine that we easily take for granted.

Is it a function of growing your strength and talent to such a degree, that you are unable to spend any time on anything else, and as a result, your weaknesses can become debilitating?

I don’t know.

As I listen to the song, I think about those troubled folks in our lives who may need our help, and I think about how sometimes, it is the simple act of listening and accepting that they need. We all need it once in a while.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. […] October 2008, I posted this lovely link and song by Amy Winehouse. I was saddened to hear of her death yesterday. She would be one of those rare orchids with […]

  2. […] October 2008, I posted this lovely link and song by Amy Winehouse. I was saddened to hear of her death yesterday. She would be one of those rare orchids with […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

