Posted by: Daisy | November 6, 2008

Daisy the Toronto Hen

So you know we went to the farm for the last time a couple of weeks ago where we pick up locally grown food and support our farmers to the north.  Then I happened upon this article about farming in the city telling the story of Daisy and 2 other hens who live in a Toronto backyard and provide fresh eggs to their owners.  According to the article, raising hens are less work than raising dogs, and have benefits beyond eggs.  It never even occurred to me that maybe, just maybe, I could have my own little Daisy hen in my backyard.  Except it’s illegal to have hens in Toronto.  Now, some folks are looking to review and potentially change bylaws to allow for this new (but really old) idea to re-emerge.  I suddenly see an image of coiffed Victoria down the street walking Daisy the hen on a leash instead of Poochy the poodle – imagine that!

What do you think?  Would you raise hens in your backyard if it were legal?

– Daisy

Responses

  1. I would love to have hens, but there are that many cats and foxes around here they wouldn’t last ten seconds

    My hens would have to be enclosed in something, otherwise I’m sure my cat and dog would torment them to death one way or another. – Daisy

  2. If I had room (which I don’t), maybe I would. I was always scared of the chickens in my grandparent’s chicken coop. However, I think one or two would not scare me, too much, LOL.

    I’d be concerned about after the hens are done with the egg-laying part.. then they become meat, and… well, I’m no vegetarian, however, I probably would have some difficulty with it. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

