Posted by: Daisy | November 12, 2008

Have you ever…

Have you ever…

Placed your hand outside the car window and made your hand ‘swim’ through the air feeling in awe at speed, space and the wonders of your surroundings

Stood in the ocean or lake and allowed the force of the waves to move your arms and body in whichever direction it wanted to take you as you marveled in its energy

Look up towards the sky on a dark, moonless night and be astonished by the sheer volume of stars in the sky that you could not even begin to count

Savoured the scent of fresh laundry that brought back memories of a time or place long ago, that in the clarity of the detailed memory, seems like it could only have been yesterday

Tasted something so magnificent, that you lost contact with all your surroundings, and briefly could not see, smell, touch, or hear anything else

It is time to revel in the moment.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. I love reveling in the moment. 😀 Thanks for reminding me.

    Mrs. V – you’re oh so very welcome! 🙂 – Daisy

  2. I there, found your blog through Little Old Me’s blog: A new way of life. I really like this post because I do this all the time! 🙂

    I particularly like watching a tree’s leaves blowing in the breeze, digging my toes in the sand and letting the water lap at my ankles, or even watch my son Sam playing with his Mom’s hair. Perfect moments.

    Nice to know others out there still look for them!

    John, That’s wonderful and thanks for the visit! Welcome to my humble abode. Yes, I try to do this often, but sometimes forget. I find the easiest in-the-moment things to do is watch my son do his thing – whatever that may be. For instance, he said today, “Hey did you know Chick Hicks (from Cars) is made of chickens?” – yup, I sure did, as I watch in amazement as his head/mind working this one through. I wonder where this will lead?!!! Ha ha. – Daisy

  3. I have done all of the above, I like to watch the clouds roll by and rain as it splashs in puddles

    Oh yes – I also like to listen to rain (without thunder/lightening) – Daisy

  4. And snow falling

  5. Hmm, reminds me of this passage:
    “Patience asks us to live the moment to the fullest, to be completely present to the moment, to taste the here and now, to be where we are. When we are impatient we try to get away from where we are. We behave as if the real thing will happen tomorrow, later and somewhere else. Let’s be patient and trust that the treasure we look for is hidden in the ground on which we stand.” – Henri Nouwen

    Cool Gerry – thanks. You made me look (on the ground I was standing on). – Daisy

  6. Cool – Did you find the treasure? 🙂

    I looked, but only saw dirt. Perhaps I wasn’t ready to see the treasure yet? – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

