Posted by: Daisy | December 5, 2008

Butcher the Music

Christmas comes along, and then all of a sudden, I get this urge to try playing piano again.  To be clear, I can’t play.  I took lessons for about 6 weeks when I was young and that was the end of it.  I can read music (I used to play violin eons ago), however, I can’t read bass clef, and have oodles of trouble doing the left hand/right hand thing in piano.  Plus, when I learned violin, I had a silly habit of learning notes as 3 fingers on A or, 2 fingers close on E – I didn’t learn the actual ‘notes’.  Now, give me violin music, and I don’t have much trouble on a violin, but try to translate that into piano… hmm.  I guess I should have learned the notes?

Every December, I start trying to play piano again.  My attempts at playing have always been just mucking around with it and playing by ear, but this year, I think I’m going to try something a little different.  I think I’m going to try to teach myself to read music.  Heck, why not?

Little 3 year olds can do it, I am sure I can too.  So, I’ve downloaded some free sheet music, and voila, I butchered a few songs.  I asked my little boy what song he wanted (thinking he’d want a simple Christmas song) but instead, he asked for “Oh Canada” – the national anthem.  Well, good for him!  (I’m so proud), Bad for Canada (I can’t play that?!!).

Okay, the self-imposed challenge is on.  Give me a few weeks and I’ll surprise everyone by Christmas with some simple renderings of ol’ favourites.

– Daisy

Leave a Reply

Categories

