Posted by: Daisy | January 6, 2009

Watching junk on TV

I’m embarrassed to say I perched in front of the TV and watched junk last night.  Maybe it was because I was feeling sorry for myself since I fell down the stairs yesterday and there really wasn’t much else I seemed capable of doing, so I endulged in a whole lot of crap.

It started with the Bachelor.  Oh my goodness… who the heck is Jason?  Well, obviously *I* am missing a whole lot of history here.  Okay Okay, I gather he was on a previous Bachelorette show where he ended up proposing and the girl turned him down.  I got that much.  But seriously.. what happened to the girl then?  Did she choose the other guy?  Or did she choose no one?  Sigh.  He seems like a nice enough guy and the women seem nice enough as well (okay, some seem darn strange, but most seem okay) but really.. is it really possible to find your true love on TV in front of lights, camera and exotic locations?  Oh yeah, I remember, there was that couple.. Ryan and Trista?  Or was it Krista?  Well, whatever her name was, I remember they got together, even got married on camera and did they also have babies too?  Just thinking that for some of us (ie, me), I think finding a good match on TV would be asking for the impossible.  I’d be stuck wondering which exotic location my next date will be at.  And if there’s anything less than lobster and steak, then, good riddance.  A girl gets used to a certain lifestyle I think!

Then in true form, I went from bad to worse and watched True Beauty.  Oh dear.  It’s about 10 ‘beautiful’ people and the judges are trying to judge them on their inner and outer beauty.  Obviously, some of them are pretty darn ugly inside.  I actually really appreciated the idea of scientific beauty and if I were in that situation, I would have loved to have an opportunity with the doctor dude to understand what my proportions are like compared to the beautiful.  I remember reading many eons ago about beauty being about proportions, angles, and symmetry and these beauty ideals are across the board all across the world amongst all races and all groups. 

I know already that my face is a little assymetrical with my right eye and eyebrows a little lower than my left one (think Shannon Doherty but not nearly that bad) and I think proportionately, my eyes should be a little wider, and my nose a little thinnner.  But whatever, I have no plans to change any of that.  I just think it would be cool to hear what an expert on this topic would tell me about me.

Yet, some people (like the chick who had a total meltdown when she was told she was one of the bottom two) take it all out of whack and suddenly accuse the doctor of being.. oh I dunno…  why do I watch this garbage?  What is it about watching people disintegrate in front of us that just won’t allow me to change the channel?  It’s like watching a train wreck.  Goodness, that woman needs to be slapped a little and grow up.  It’s interesting – we never did find out what her beauty # was, but the reality is, it doesn’t matter because she’s pretty ugly in my books.

– Daisy, who promises not to watch junk tonight and write something a little better next time

Responses

  1. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I know this is a well worn phrase but its true. Who says these people are beautiful? Because most people seem to think they are? Most people are none too bright. Is a baby born with Down’s not beautiful to its mother? Shouldn’t she be beautiful to us all?

    Sophia Loren, one of the great beauties of all time has a big nose, so there. 🙂

    You’re absolutely right. I’m going to write another post – call it a part 2 if you will! – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

