Posted by: Daisy | January 19, 2009

I want to be just like you

My little guy said “I want to be just like you”. I must have beamed. I had no idea what he meant so I probed for more information. As it turns out, he was referring to my role as a fitness instructor and he told me that he wanted to teach classes too when he grew up. I wanted to be sure I understood, and asked him – “do you want to teach fitness classes, or kindergarten classes like at school?” and he clearly indicated it was my fitness classes he had taken a liking too.

Wow. So, I asked him why. He quickly answered “because it’s fun!”. Sometimes, you say things enough times and someone will hear it! I’ve said this many times to others that in order for fitness to become a part of your lifestyle, you need to ensure whatever you do is fun. Now, I’m happily able to report that my actions have shown my son that I’m not just saying it, he knows it to be true. Fitness is fun. So fun he wants to be an instructor, just like me.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Sorry to burst your bubble, lassie, but its the chicks he’s got his eye on. :-p

    Whoa Laddie… I happen to know for a fact that he thinks of the chicks as “eeeeeeeww gross” these days. I do tell him once in a while that he might start to really like them one day. πŸ˜‰ – Daisy

  2. They are always watching, always listening. It’s so great when they catch us at something positive for a change! πŸ™‚

    Absolutely, since he’s caught me at enough not so good stuff and then starts asking me… “mommy, why are you mad at the other driver?”. And thanks for adding me to your blogroll! Very much appreciated and honoured. – Daisy

  3. I think it’s sweet that he thinks your job is fun. πŸ™‚ Sweet story.

    Yeah, I think it’s great. He’s just growing up with fitness as part of his lifestyle, and I’m pretty sure he’ll continue with it well into adulthood. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

