Posted by: Daisy | January 28, 2009

What rhymes with Orange?

I was put on hold with financial institution ING Direct and found the experience very interesting.  Unlike the typical on-hold experience where they attempt to cross-sell other products and services and/or dull you with music that drives a person bonkers, they want to improve that experience and instead give you little tidbits of information.  One phrase talked about how the average Canadian has spent X minutes so far this week commuting – I don’t remember the number.  Another one asked “Can you think of 3 words that rhyme with orange” and promised that you will not have thought of one before your call is answered.  Luckily for me, I’m on hold while in front of the computer, so I looked it up – DOH.  Nothing rhymes with Orange?!!!  Another interesting one was “How do you say ‘save your money’ in dutch?”.  They also apologized repeatedly for taking longer than usual (I checked my phone and had only been on hold for 6 minutes – I know others who couldn’t care less after I’ve been on hold for 20 minutes or more) and not utter a single word of apology.

I can honestly say that was the best, ‘On Hold’ experience ever.  It made me smile, think, and pat ING Direct on the back for doing a great job at showcasing their brand as quite different and unique from other financial giants and even other companies.

How can other companies learn from them and show us better service, and more interesting ways of doing business?  I’ll try to help by continuing to support them with my business, and letting others know about the great service. 

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Superb. I was on hold recently for what seemed like hours but was only minutes, just because of the very irritating Sinatra music. I don’t dislike the man but it didn’t work for me.

    Knock, knock.
    Who’s there?
    Orange
    Orange who?
    Orange you going to ask me in?

    I couldn’t think of a rhyme in time.

    Doh. I really dislike Knock Knock jokes and I blame it all on my little one. He says the darndest not funny ones that he makes up and as soon as I hear/see Knock Knock, I turn around and walk the other way. I’ve actually told him – “no one’s home – I don’t open doors for people who say ‘knock knock'”. – Daisy

  2. What a great idea. I hate being put on hold, but that I could put up with.

    At least I know it’ll always be interesting if I need to call them! – Daisy

  3. That is pretty cool. I knew the thing about orange as it was on QI (a comedy quiz show over here) … and they cheated by usiang Blorenge which is a town in Wales.

    I do like the idea of having quiz questions while you are on hold … but my OCD would make me really annoyed if there was one that I had not got and the guy picked up before I got the answer.

    They said that the agent is “not allowed to give you any answers” – which I thought was funny. – Daisy

  4. its doorhinge

  5. door hinge rhymes with orange

    Yes it does! Thanks Tiffany! – Daisy

  6. Syringe, Door-Hinge, fringe. There are 3 words.

    I’ll agree to “door hinge” – however, someone else beat you to that, and the other two.. I dunno… though they sound like door-hinge, they don’t seem to sound like orange in my mind. – Daisy

  7. syringe and door hinge all rhyme

    yeah, I think someone else mentioned that as well – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

