Posted by: Daisy | January 29, 2009

The Cookie Sin Continued

So you know in my original Cookie Sin post, I had to go buy more ingredients so that I could bake some new cookies and pretend like I didn’t inhale the previous plate, right?

Well, the baking went well, and I made a pretty good batch of cookies – not bad at all considering it’s been over 10 years.  In total, I made 44 cookies.  Yes, I counted.  There were 3 cookie sheets with 12 each, and the last sheet had 8.  I just needed to know because something told me that this was going to be a little troublesome.

Let’s do a little math, shall we?  44 cookies came out of the oven on Tuesday, January 27th.  Today is Thursday, January 29th.  It’s been approximately 48 hours.  6 cookies were eaten by others, not of this household.  That leaves 38 cookies.  As of this instance, there are 4 cookies left in the cupboard.  38 minus 4 is 34 cookies.  34 cookies have been eaten in 48 hours.

If we assume that cookies are only eaten during waking hours, and let’s just say we’re awake for 15 hours a day, then we can safely assume that 34 cookies were eaten in 30 waking hours.  That’s 1.13 cookie per hour.

Okay, that doesn’t sound so bad, does it?

In my defense, I must have burned off about 20 cookies when I shovelled the snow twice yesterday?

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Oh you definitely burned off 20 cookies shoveling the snow. I’m absolutely sure of that, in fact, you may even have a cookie deficit since you shoveled twice in one day. Maybe you better go have the last four just in case. 😉
    Annie

    Annie, Oh thanks so much for the encouragement.. like I needed someone to give me the okay to finish the last 4… these cookies need to be banned from my home. – Daisy

  2. Go on eat them, you don’t want them to go off!

    Oh yeah.. don’t want them to go bad or anything. I checked – there are 2 left and I did not eat the other 2. Tee hee hee. – Daisy

  3. Hi Daisy – I know all abut the “disappearing” cookies. How can we deny ourselves homemade bakery? After all, it’s much better than store bought, and like you said, shoveling snow helped to bury off the calories. You go, girl. 🙂

    It’s definately hard to deny. I will have a better plan next time. Give away at least half or more! – Daisy

  4. Mmmm, cookies. I need to go to the store to buy ingredients, stat!

    Cxx

    Step away from the mixer before you fall into the baking trap! – Daisy

  5. ROFL. Sometime I’ll have to do the math at my house. I do have one question for you: How come when there is one or two cookies left they’ll stay in the cookie jar until they are stale? I have yet to figure this puzzle out. Maybe it only happens at our house.

    Yes, there’s something about guilt that slows the last ones from being eaten alive.. yet, obviously not even guilt since mine are all gone now.. and never even came close to getting stale! – Daisy

  6. I hereby dub you the Cookie Monster!! 🙂

    And I’ll happily take that title! – Daisy

  7. You know, if you bake another batch of cookies, your net cookie withdrawal will be negative 🙂

    If I bake another batch.. oh nevermind. I am not even going to contemplate it any longer! – Daisy

  8. Sometimes, I mash my cookies into a little mountain of crumbs…. and snort. It’s much more efficient than chewing.

    I’m not sure these cookies would crumble… they were very soft cookies.. and well, seeing as how they’re all gone now, I can’t even try it. Unless of course, I bake another bunch… thanks for the visit! 🙂 – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

