Posted by: Daisy | February 21, 2009

Science Fiction for Friday nights

I’m the first to admit it.  I love watching Science Fiction shows.  It seems to be the only thing I watch these days.  Last night, I plopped myself in front of the television for 3 hours in a row! 

I was only recently reminded that friday nights are now.. dun dun dun

Terminator, Sarah Connor Chronicles
Dollhouse, with my Helo Hottie from BSG
Battlestar Galactica

Frak me, I’ve died and gone to Sci-Fi heaven! What is it about Friday nights and Science Fiction? Whatever it is, just keep it coming.

And, uh, somebody help me with Dollhouse? Is Echo a real person who has decided she wants to do this for a living or something? Or are they more like Cylons who are.. well, programmed?

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Hi Daisy,

    I’m with you. I love Science Fiction. I’ve no less than like 37 brainstorms I’d love to let shower. Since I started writing though, I watch a lot less TV. Movies too. First time in my life I’ve been so far away from film. It will be fun to catch up on DVD. I haven’t seen Dollhouse, though I am interested. Sarah Connor Chronicles is right up my alley, but I haven’t seen it either. I am up to date (except for last night’s episode) on BSG and I ALWAYS make time for Lost. Sometimes twice.

    I have found I watch much less TV now because I’m just plain too busy. I find that I do tend to rely a lot on what other people rant and rave about. For instance, I started watching BSG and Dexter on DVD due to others rantings (and they made it very easy by lending me the DVD’s). Oh dear. Speaking of which.. I’ve missed out big time on Dexter. I’ll have to catch up on DVD when it comes out.

    BSG’s No Exit from last week? Oh, that one made my head spin in a great way. If you want to read more about that episode and what the writers of the show said (Q&A), try this link:

    http://featuresblogs.chicagotribune.com/entertainment_tv/2009/02/battlestar-galactica-no-exit-.html

    Enjoy! – Daisy

  2. Do you get Dr Who in Canada? That’s my main indulgence. I’ve adored it since I was very young. I also used to be an avid fan of both Stargate’s SG1 and Atlantis before they ended.

    Are you talking about the original Dr Who? (I don’t know if there’s a remake or anything) – yes, it’s here, but I don’t watch it. My geeky friends and hubby have talked about Stargate and Atlantis, but unless you plop me in front of them at the beginning of the show, then I usually won’t get hooked. Best way to hook me is by lending me the DVD’s and raving about it! – Daisy

  3. The new Doctor Who is totally FAB! If you ever get access to it, start with the first season of the new one which came out around 2005 or so. It’s exhilerating, emotional, and just plain entertaining!

    I was a huge fan of Firefly, also by Joss Whedon, so I can’t wait to check out Dollhouse which I know very little about so far.

    The new Battlestar Galactica is gripping television, isn’t it? Me and Cass are up to the last season now. I think we’ll wait for the box set before we watch it though – I can’t stand ads, and the constant wait until “next week” for the next episode drives me mad!

    I would recommend Red Dwarf to you as well, a sci-fi sitcom from the esteemed BBC. I am assuming that you may not have heard of it as it’s British, so please correct me if I’m wrong. It’s about Dave Lister, the last human being alive who is stranded 3 million years into deep space. He lives on the mining ship Red Dwarf with the Cat (a humanoid being that evolved from his dead cat), Arnold Rimmer (a hologram of a dead crew member that he never got along with), and Kryten (a bumbling fusspot of a service mechanoid that they found on a deep space vessel somewhere). It is absolutely funny, and full of clever sci-fi ideas and storylines. 🙂

    Dr. Who – okay, you and Jon are raving.. so maybe, I’ll look into it.
    Firefly – yes, we have that on DVD, and hubby was huge fan of Buffy, Angel, and all things Joss Whedon it seems. The girl.. Fred is also in Dollhouse.
    BSG – oh my, I can only say that this is TV at its best.
    Red Dwarf – nope, I haven’t heard of it yet – I’ll see what I can find out about it though – thanks for the tip! – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

