Posted by: Daisy | February 23, 2009

Walking Popsicle

It was bone-chilling cold this morning. The young lad and I always walk to school since it’s only a 5 minute walk. I have also been known to say, “Way back when.. I used to walk to school for 30 minutes, up hill, both ways… ” I have no intentions of giving him a ride to school unless absolutely necessary. Car rides are for fill-in-the-blank-of-some-inappropriate-name-calling.

Today, I tried taking the garbage, blue box and green bin out, and almost froze into a popsicle in 30 seconds flat. I said, “hey, let’s drive to school today, okay?!!”. I just checked the weather: it’s minus 12 Celsius, but feels like -22 and the wind is at 31 km/h. No wonder I’m feeling so wimpy.

So, we hopped into the car, and drove to school. Driving to school requires me to navigate the car around a school zone (which is always full of cars) and then there’s the task of finding a coveted parking spot. By the time all is said and done, it actually takes the same amount of time to drive to school as it does to walk to school. I’m just a driving popsicle instead of a walking one. Go figure.

If you need something beyond name-calling and is quite amusing, check out Mickey Rourke’s acceptance speech for Best Male Independent Spirit Award? Very amusing, very off the cuff and definately not for kids.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Loved the clip. He’s a real hoot!

    Yes he is – he tells it like he sees it and doesn’t hold back. I gotta appreciate that kind of honesty! – Daisy

  2. Alas, I’m on dial up still, and therefore can’t access said clip unless I want to wait around for the next 10 days for it to download! With what I’ve read of his interviews and such, I can imagine what he might have had to say though! :p

    If there’s a transcript of it, even just reading that would be hilarious. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

