Posted by: Daisy | February 25, 2009

Speed of Change

I loved this video sent to me about technology, education and the changing face of the world.  It’s full of lines like:

“China will soon become the #1 English speaking country of the world.”
“India has more honours kids than America has kids.”
“Today’s learners will have 10-14 jobs by the age of 38.”

I won’t spoil anymore of it, however check it out, don’t forget to turn on the speakers and tell me you’re not feeling a little like your head is spinning.

I’ve always been open to change, and in fact thrive in it much more than others I know. However, even as I watch the video, I’m a little in awe at what my son’s generation and future generations world is going to look and feel like. In another way, I have this sense and idea that for our great grandparents and those before them, they must have felt something similar as well. “Back in the day…” they would say, and you’d nod politely as they talk about how much the world has changed while their references are to products and services you’ve taken for granted. Will you be able to give youth the right advice when they start asking you about employment? Would you suggest they look for a stable job, like my parents generation consistently seems to value?

Times have changed. Change happens. Shift happens. Accept it, and look for the opportunity to grow within it.

Updated: I have to add this link from Cammy for a post about multi-generations and learning styles. It’s so fitting, and has even more food for thought.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. wow. kind of boggles the mind. are we really having time to process all of this … and by we, i mean humanity.

    Yes, it does boggle the mind. Yet I believe our children and children’s children are growing up in a place where it is just ‘normal’ that things happen that quickly and they go with it. My son started teaching me things on the computer when he was only 4! Yikes! – Daisy

  2. Change is fine by me, but I echo Darlene in wondering if we really have time to process all of this. The pace of it is something I’ve never ever been able to keep pace with. I’m the kind of guy who has to sit and think for awhile in order to process something in a way that’s meaningful for me. It seems that the world doesn’t want to wait for that; it wants snap judgements and everything that’s worth saying compacted down into quick soundbites… I can’t do that!

    In other words, most people’s thinking (especially that of the younger generation) seems to be quite pragmatic, reflecting a strictly point A to B mentality. My pattern of thinking is quite elliptical – I can see point A and I can see point B, but my mind has to circle point B like water going down a drain… taking in a little bit of this and a little bit of that along the way. I’m beginning to think that this is a liability in today’s results driven world! :p

    Oh! I’m liking this.
    I agree that the younger generation’s expectations are much more about quick, short soundbites. Yet, at the same time, I know my parents generation and even older say the same of my generation. Is it something we’re bound to do? Isn’t this partially a world we created for them where soundbites and quick hits are what they respond to?

    Okay, set that aside.

    There are all kinds of people in the world who process information differently and come to conclusions differently. I think one of the best things for all of us to do is to understand who we are and what our tendencies are. Absolutely, if you prefer to circle B from all angles, that is a great asset to have in a team environment. Ultimately, a great team is made up of different individuals with different strengths, weaknesses and ways of looking at issues. I believe It is with differing ideas, that the best teams end up with action plans.

    I’m one of those results-oriented people who runs ahead a little faster than others, sometimes making snap decisions. Yet, together, we look at the angles, we work out the kinks, and we finish together as a team delivering the best we can. I don’t think yours is a liability at all! Yours is what prevents people like me from making big mistakes!

    – Daisy

  3. […] (via daisy) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

