Posted by: Daisy | March 21, 2009

The End of BSG

Ahh, but there is never an end to anything, is there?  It is all but a journey, and anything resembling an end typically opens up new opportunities and doors.

As an incredibly huge fan of Battlestar Galactica, it was exciting, yet sad to see the Series Finale yesterday.  However, I will not be writing about the plot, storyline or characters.  Instead, I want to share with you how proud I am of the show in being more than simply a show that entertains us.

Recently cast members including Edward James Olmos, Mary McDonnel, and the creators, writers and executive producers Ron Moore and David Eicke participated in a discussion at the United Nations.  No kidding.  From the UN site, they stated:

The United Nations is co-hosting a discussion with the stars and creators of the television show Battlestar Galactica today, exploring themes which are important to both – human rights, terrorism, children and armed conflict, and reconciliation between civilians and faiths.

“This event will show how skilful storytelling can elevate the profile of critical humanitarian issues,” said Kiyo Akasaka, UN Under-Secretary-General for Public Information. “Not only does it present an opportunity for creative discussion, but, more importantly, it offers a chance to deliver a message about the many harsh realities that still exist worldwide.”

Here’s a short clip from that event.  Apologies that the sound/video are not synched near the end, however, I think the message comes through.

I’d also like to add in another proud thought.  BSG is filmed in Vancouver, Canada and stars many Canadians including the “6” or Caprica, “8” or Boomer/Sharon/Athena, Saul Tigh, Tyrol, Helo and Tory.  Amazingly, many of the cylons were Canadian!

Congrats to the creators, producers, cast, crew, and all those involved in the show on delivering television at its best.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. I don’t think I have ever watched one of these

    I would highly recommend it to anyone – whether they love or hate sci fi because I think it’s just a great series. – Daisy

  2. Thank you so much for not discussing anything to do with the plot or characters, as I have yet to see season 4 of this fantastic show. Here’s hoping that I get to see it soon, as I’m dying to see how they bring this one to an end! I love shows that keep me guessing…

    Love it, love it, love it! I can’t remember where season 3 ends and where you are in the storyline? – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

