Posted by: Daisy | April 2, 2009

Admiration in a real Leader

Cutbacks are happening all around us and many times people have to make tough decisions.  However, I have not ever heard of a story like this one.  It’s about a Canadian company and what senior management do to protect the company for the long term.

Please take a look and tell me there are more companies like this one because it simply puts a tear in my eye reading about it.  No seriously, tell me the company names so I can look them up and find leaders I’d want to work with!  🙂

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Daisy, thanks for the support, but it really was the right call. Hardest call in the world, but when it came right down to it change has to start at the top, right?

    Jeremy,

    Thanks for the visit and comment.

    I’ve been in enough situations where the call is tough, you know what needs to be done, yet people have chosen other routes to take that turns the employer/employee relationship into an us vs them. I’ve probably seen plenty of organizations at the top looking down at everything they can cut below them including paper clips.

    There are far fewer like you and your organization and it’s very nice to know you exist!

    – Daisy

  2. This story made the news here in the USA. I think it shows what “management” really is about.

    I think it is really cool that Jeremy visited your blog. The man has class.

    P.S. Some blog bling is coming your way, as soon as I get it posted. 🙂

    Yes, I’d have to agree that he certainly has class to have done it this way. And, I too, was surprised by the visit as well. But wait for it… he’s back and he’s got a question for you! In fact, it was the same question I have too! – Daisy

  3. Mrs V, I’m curious where the story made the news? Always trying to keep my eye on stuff. Either way, thanks for the compliment. I’m still learning this whole management thing, which often means more mistakes than successes!

    Jeremy, I wondered the same thing about being in US news. With respect to making mistakes, they say that really successful people are the ones who try and try and try again making lots of mistakes before the big success happens. Clearly you’ve got a lot of great backers (including those with investment $) who believe in your abilities. Keep it up. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

