Posted by: Daisy | April 15, 2009

The Key

Crashed Car

My 2001 Honda Civic treated us very well.  She kept us safe, always. 

It was hard to see her all beaten up, yet the second time I went to see her, it was a little easier and I took a few more moments to look a little closer at the damage.

WindshieldI took these pictures after the insurance guy confirmed she was a write-off.  I knew it would be the last time I saw her before she was auctioned off for parts.  I was there to pick up the license plates.

The guy took off the plates and gave them to me.  He left me with my car and I spent a few moments.  It honestly felt a bit surreal for me and yes, a bit like a funeral where I remembered all the good times.

 

Sela, the 2001 CivicShe still looks beautiful from other angles.

 

 

 

 

 

KeyI didn’t return everything.  I still have lots of great memories, and I still have her key.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. My condolances for your loss

    thanks Mr. Geek

  2. 😦 you’ll always have the memories … xo

    thanks Darlene.

  3. I feel your pain. Seriously. Cars are such a part of us anymore; a part of every place we go, therefore a part of almost every memory. A car is like a skin we wear when getting from one point to another. A car is like a moving house–a place where we can sing out loud, get chocolate all over our faces and check the mirror, “car dance” to the cool tunes, and pick our noses because we think no one else can see us in our invisible bubble.

    The only bright side? The new car is almost always cooler than the old car.

    Yes, you’re absolutely right. I have not had a chance to take a photo of the new car, post it and write about it just yet. I will. Soon. Ish. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

