Posted by: Daisy | April 27, 2009

Three Movies about Love

When I met my husband for the first time, my first reaction was “He’s a good looking jock.”  There was no ‘love at first sight’.  All I saw was football, soccer, or track and field.  Not surprisingly, his thoughts about me were similar, except that they were somewhere along the lines of me being a bit of a geek.  Never in a million years would I have suspected at the time I met him that I’d end up marrying him. 

Last night, we watched “Sleepless in Seattle” with Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan on TV.  Early in the movie, hubby said, “Wow, Tom Hanks looks so young – it’s hard to believe it’s been 16 years.” to which I replied, “16 years?!!!  Are you kidding me?!!!”  We both knew that this movie was one we watched early in our dating career (was it our first movie?!!) and the revelation that we’ve been together for 16 years hit me full force.

The movie was fabulous in 1993, and it’s still fabulous now in 2009.  I’d call this chick flick at its finest as it has those wacky, great moments of almost and not quite, interspersed with tears, laughter and joy.  I was immersed into their fantasy world where “magic” was that special ingredient that allowed their characters to meet in spite of all the odds.

I suppose in a way, we also beat some odds, given the mindset we both started with.  We had nothing to lose and never thought the other marriage material.  I think it is with the low expectations that we did manage to get to know each other and realize, wow, there’s something far more between us than the simple labels of a jock and geek together.

Our story is definately not interesting enough for a movie unless you really start to embellish, however, I could not help but think of two other movies along the same lines: 

There’s “Serendipity” with John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale and then “A lot like love” with Ashton Kutcher and Amanda Peet.  I enjoyed these movies and found they satiated my desire to believe that some day, some how, if it’s meant to be, it will.  But you’ve gotta work at it.

Here’s to working at, and for, love.

 

– Daisy

Leave a Reply

Categories

