Posted by: Daisy | May 6, 2009

Getting to know me. Part 23

I was so surprised to be tagged by Tara at Sticky Fingers and what was even funnier was the way she described the original rules to this meme. She in turn changed the rules to keep it simple for us simple folk to follow. You gotta love her for that. She also claimed that she was going to slap legs and pull on hair if we didn’t play along, but I know better – she’d have to spend some serious dough to fly across to slap me.. so in the words of my younger self – whatever. Even so, that sweet mum over there scares me a little. So I better chop chop before she threatens something really serious like never visiting again. YIKES. So, in fear, I squeak out “Tara – we’re good now, right?”.

1. Who is the hottest movie star?
The hottest? Absolute hottest? Oh come on, you’ve got to be kidding. I’m supposed to choose one? I’m still stuck on BSG, so it’ll have to be Jamie Bamber for today. That might change tomorrow though.

2. Apart from your house and your car, what’s the most expensive item you’ve ever bought?
I’m afraid I can only think of services and other non-items like: #1 having a child and all the associated expenses, #2 finishing the basement, #3 the landscaping at our last house including that BEAUTIFUL tree. If you really want ONE item, then I suppose the engagement ring would be it and gosh it’s worth it.

3. What’s your most treasured memory?
The early hours and days of motherhood. And even before then – the kicks of pregnancy. The pain of labour. I’m kidding on that last one.

4. What was the best gift you ever received as a child?
Legoland 6980 – space station and space ships. And lo and behold, it’s right there past my left shoulder on the floor.

5. What’s the biggest mistake you’ve made?
I have no regrets. We make mistakes so that we can grow and learn. And sometimes, the bigger the mistake, the better the learning, the bigger the future success. Also remember I just finished a book called “Whoever makes the most mistakes wins“.

6. 4 words to describe yourself.
Duh. Blonde. Dumb. Quirky. Okay, that’s not quite right, but Hubby does like to check if I’ve got blonde roots afterall.
Myers-Briggs INTJ – Introvert, Intuitive, Thinking, Judging. Go look it up and that describes me quite well.

7. What was your highlight or lowlight of 2008?
Saying sayonara to a toxic environment that sucked the life out of good people.

8. Favourite film?
Oh, there are so many. But the first one in my brain was Matrix.

9. Tell me one thing I don’t know about you.
English is my second language.

10. If you were a comic book/strip or cartoon character, who would you be?
Scooby Doo – I really do like my Scooby Snaks.

I’ve done my bit. I don’t normally tag others, so go ahead and do it if you would like, but be sure to let me know once the post is up so I can get to know you better.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Haha, no. 4 proves you’re a geek at heart. 🙂

    Number 9 has piqued my interest though. I know it’s not French. Can you spill the beans?

    Yes, in a strange way, I do believe I am sometimes a geek, but certainly not a full-fledged one like you. Clearly, French is not my first, ha ha ha… and if I spilled the beans, well, then that just takes away the whole mystery of Daisy, doesn’t it? And you asked what I was trying to hide – that would be EVERYTHING! Ha! – Daisy

  2. I had never heard of Jamie Bamber. A little Google search provided some pleasant results. 🙂

    I would have assumed your first language was French. Spanish then?

    Glad you approve! I did take French in public school, and I did take a Spanish course in University so that I could graduate, but I’m afraid not. And if I keep commenting about what it isn’t, then someone is going to guess right and then my secret will be out. So, I’m putting my foot on the ground, right now. No more comments from me about what language it is or is not! 🙂 Darn it! – Daisy

  3. Hi Daisy,

    Re # 7 – leaving a toxic environment. Apparently the #1 reason for leaving a job is lack of appreciation. I worked in the corporate world for many years and can really understand those comments. Why is it that so many managers or supervisors are scared to tell people they are doing a good job, even for small things. Yet race to tell them they are doing something wrong!!

    I was a senior sales manager for years and built a really good team by valuing their imput and comments – OK, I also bought a few rounds as well but that was all part of the bonding!! I still have quite a few good friends from that group even though we have all gone our separate ways. I finally left because senior management was downloading problems big time with little concern for our well being. It was either leave, or check myself into hospital.

    Cheers,
    Trevor.

    Oh yes, I remember that feeling too – the leave or check into a hospital.. there was a time in my life (not in 2008) when I too felt that way. Amazing how much better I felt after leaving, and phew, I didn’t end up with any serious health conditions. Thanks for sharing Trevor, and I very much appreciate your comments! 🙂 – Daisy

  4. 🙂 loved reading this!! xo

    Glad you enjoyed it! 😉 – Daisy

  5. Hi, Daisy! Regarding #9, I was going to say, “You are obviously from Quebec, then” until the first commenter mentioned that French is not your first language. So is Daisy your real name or is that a nom de plume also? Because most Daisys, I would think, are English. But what do I know? It took me several looks at your blogname to realize that it is “Answer Starts With You” and not “Answers Tarts With You”….

    Oh, and thanks for commenting on my blog.

    Oh boy. Tarts. Hmmm, I think I will just have to refrain from commenting on that one. I’ve obviously opened up a certain can of worms here, and who would have thunk? Yes, Daisy is my real name – it was given to me when I moved to Canada and it’s even on my passport, my license, etc. – Daisy

  6. In Spanish the name is Margarita.

    Yes, I was aware of that, which would explain that it’s unlikely for Spanish to be my first language. Alas, I think this guessing game is amusing. Don’t spill the beans if you happen to know me, okay? – Daisy

  7. You’re named after a pizza!

    Just kidding, I think it’s a pretty name. I really like those names that are often considered old fashioned now. Elizabeth is another.

    Is there a pizzeria named Daisy? I know we have little convenience stores named “Daisy Mart”, but other than that, I don’t think there’s anything else. Yeah, I find the top 10 baby names these days are all these “new” ones which seemed to have come from the soaps, or elsewhere. – Daisy

  8. Gah, how did i miss this? Sorry I’m late to the party, but great answers Daisy and Jamie B is new to me too, but you clearly have very good taste!
    Plus Scooby Doo – awesome!

    Hey no worries! Glad you liked the answers, and it was fun doing it – thanks for tagging me! – Daisy

  9. So you’re a lego lady. You have gone up in my estimation by a thousand gajillion points, Daisy! Anyone who says a lego set was the best present they got as a kid deserves a thunderous round of applause and a Nobel Peace prize… or something cool anyway. 🙂

    I hereby accept this amazing award for loving Lego. Thanks for nominating me! – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

