Posted by: Daisy | May 11, 2009

Ta da

I made a few changes here and brightened up the space with a little map and another little widget. If you read through a reader, have you had a chance to come see the real place and take a look at my sidebar?

I’m particularly fond of the map because it reminds me that we’re not alone out here! I do have a question for you. Take a moment to look at the map if you haven’t already. Do you see something strange about it? I’ve been grappling with this question for a long time and that is, why is there such a huge concentration of visitors in the north-eastern portion of North America? Why not South Western U.S.? Why not Western Canada? Then when you look past all the water, there’s a whole bunch more “why not’s”… so, what’s the explanation for this strange phenomenon?

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Can’t explain that one, but I can say that you’ve got a visitor or two from the land of Oz anyways… 🙂

    TONY SINGLE, my golly, it feels like its been a long time! Welcome back – it is so nice to have you around again! – Daisy

  2. Because much of the internet for North America terminates there, and the geo IP location technology resolves to those termination points?

    I have no idea whether it’s true or not, but it sounds good. 🙂

    Oooooh.. that does sound good! Though I think there’s still more to it than that. Of course my brain thinks something about the people, while yours thinks something technical. Amazing how we stay true to our core ALL THE TIME! 🙂 – Daisy

  3. My only thought is that the Southwestern portion of the U.S. is not as heavily populated as the Northeast. I live in Central Utah and almost the whole western portion of Utah from the middle to the south is unpopulated until you get to the south west portion.
    Nevada only has about 2 million people in the entire state, and New York City alone has about 8 million. Arizona has some huge chunks that are unpopulated too.

    Well, gosh darn it, didn’t I learn something new today! Thanks Randi! 🙂 – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

