Posted by: Daisy | May 26, 2009

What makes me smile

I’ve been extremely busy for the last 5 days and been part of a number of different support groups who have come together as a close knit community.  It struck me upside the head that I am so lucky to be able to rely on these multiple, independent and diversified groups which help define, and support the different sides of who I am.

To start, I spent 72 long hours in training for the newest fitness classes that will begin arriving in my area later this year.  Along with my fellow instructors from all over the province, we came together, smiled, laughed and learned in a decidedly relaxed and supportive environment.  Never have I taught a class with so many smiles, laughter, and words of encouragement and support than this past weekend.

I returned to the “best neighbourhood ever” and enjoyed the company of neighbours and friends as we spent extraordinary amounts of time hanging out with our children.  Again, laughing, smiling and not quite crying about the antics of our children, we commiserated about the growing pains we were each saddled with and realized we were all in the same parenting boat.  I reconnected with someone from Facebook and was thrilled she found me and invited her to join our neighbourhood for an inpromptu get-together on any nice weather day.  When you’ve got something great, you’ve got to share it with others, right?

I volunteered for a role that helps kids stay in school by sharing experiences related to careers, money, and the economics of real life lessons and were surrounded by other like-minded professionals also committed to giving back to the community.

I missed a networking group meeting, however, got the email outlying the discussions and was blown away by the honesty, trust, openness and clear support that the group shared with each other.  I feel so blessed to be a part of this, even though I wasn’t there.

So as I sit and type this, I realize yet again, that my life is so rich with warmth, community and support for, quite plainly, me.  I wish someone told me sooner the jewels that can be found in these communities as I can not imagine life without them.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. I love to read things like this Daisy because it makes me realise that community does still exist and things aren’t as bad as they seem sometimes.
    I think the loss of community is a really sad thing and a great loss to us all.
    I was chatting to the postman (!) last week and he was telling me how people can be really funny about taking in post for their neighbours and he’s noticed it getting worse.
    I’ve always made a point of looking after my neighbours as one day you may need them.

    People are getting funny about taking in mail?!! Good heavens, what’s happening?!! Amongst our neighbours, we do a lot of helping, and asking for help. Even if I step away from the neighbourly thing, I have found that when I take the first step in helping out others, I seem to get back the most wonderful help out of left field. – Daisy

  2. I know my various “communities” keep me going. It is a wonderful thing.

    I wish I discovered their power far sooner in life – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

