Posted by: Daisy | June 14, 2009

Where’s the IT department?

As I write this, I’m now in a hotel room a few hours from my family with a brand new laptop that will quickly become my new best friend (in a technology kind of way). I’ve been spending time with this laptop the last few days asking it to do things and communicating with it in ways that it doesn’t always understand. Let’s get real here, I’m used to relying on an IT department to make it all work and instead, I’ve found myself trying to synchronize this with that, and make it all talk to each other between the laptop, blackberry, outlook and gmail.

One of the things I spent a whole lot of time doing was exporting and importing my contacts. I was trying to take it from one place, and putting it into another, and then synchronizing between the laptop and the blackberry. Sounds simple enough, but for me, it took a while. The first time, I exported over 700 contacts and nearly had a heart attack. 700? I’m positive there’s junk in that file. So, then I spent a lot of time cleaning up the files. I ended up with a good 300 contacts and was thrilled when I successfully exported from one, then imported it to another. Wow. Good clean fun, isn’t it? Okay, not really. I’m just happy with the results and that I didn’t throw anything at anyone or anything.

Please don’t ask me any specifics about “how to” since I doubt my process is repeatable. Plus, I will likely throw a shoe at you.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Go you! You’ve learn the the first lesson of IT. Don’t be afraid. Computers can smell fear and love to exploit that at every opportunity. 🙂

    Oh and if you find the IT department, let them know I’m still looking for a job please.

    I KNEW it! I didn’t show any fear through my fingers, however, when I stood and looked at it a few times, I did say to myself, “please, please don’t make me screw up anything too badly”. And dumb question, I’m having trouble with backing up my stuff… any idea why? It’s saying that path is invalid, but get this, the path is e:/backup.?? – where the question mark is whatever the computer is automatically generating (I don’t remember what it is) and e is the DVD drive. – Daisy

    • When you say e:/backup.?? two things immediately come to mind.

      Do you mean e:\backup ? as a forward slash is invalid. Also is that full stop really there as that would be invalid too?

      You’re right, what I meant was e:\backup.bkp except that I don’t remember what the extension was so I threw in the ??. Of course, I still don’t know the extension, and I don’t think it is bkp, and just made up something (here) – on the laptop, it makes up something for me and is still not working, though I’ve got other things on my to-do list that have priority over this. I suppose I am really hoping nothing will happen before I am able to back up or else I will be really hopping MAD! – Daisy

  2. Mewhaha – people only miss us when they don’t have us. Be nice to your IT people! (Was that bitter? :-))

    Oh dear. Wait till I have time to write about the experience I did have with the IT guy. It is quite amusing. – Daisy

  3. Hey Daisy,
    LOL – technology may be fast – but getting it to work for us is another matter altogether, eh? Glad you had a successful import without shedding any blood.
    Annie

    They say it’s not over until the fat lady sings… I’m hoping she’s going to sing soon. 🙂 – Daisy

  4. hey, well done – doesn’t it make you feel good when you do it on your own and nothing goes wrong! anyway, our IT dept would log on to your laptop as you and fiddle leaving you with a worse mess than you started with!

    Yes and no. I’ve come to appreciate good IT folks, and even some not so good ones.. well, at least I can appreciate the time it takes to get some things set up. And I can certainly understand the making a bigger mess than to begin with.. that’s when you say, “Step AWAY from the keyboard and no one will get hurt!” – Daisy

  5. never mind wheres the IT department, where’s Daisy gone?

    Ackkk… I know.. I know! 🙂 – Daisy

  6. Daisy, come back, we miss you.

    Hey, what have you been up to lately? – Daisy

  7. Yeah, two weeks is a long enough vacation, isn’t it?
    [crossing my fingers that she really is just on temporary vacation…]

    Yes yes, nothing is rarely ever permanent, now is it? How’ve you been? – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

