Posted by: Daisy | July 6, 2009

The last few weeks

I realized I still haven’t had a moment to write and at least give you excuses for why I haven’t been around.

So, rather than wait for the optimal time when I can write a well crafted (ha ha ha ha ha) post, instead, I will write a super-fast one (that will likely be pretty long) that simply gives the facts and perhaps a little opinion thrown in for good measure.

And before I forget, I think it would be safe to say that I’m going to be extremely SLOOOW in responding to comments, visiting and other dutiful things bloggers do. Thanks for your patience. I’m hoping by August things will settle down.

So where the hell have I been? The last time I left you, I was kvitching about IT and the geeky guys who hang out in those darkened rooms. I’m allowed to say this because I love geeky guys, married one, have been called a geek many a time, and it seems many of our close friends are geeky too. When I have the time, I just may tell you the full story of my computer, but due to lack of time, I will fondly remember and appreciate all the geekiness of the guys who do take care of the systems, equipment and such, so that people like me can simply use the tools when they’re working as they should.

The week I was away, I was actually training on the products, systems, people, etc of the new company I’m now working for and every evening at the hotel, I found myself dealing with one thing after another. My original plans to have a relaxing week away became toast as I found myself up late every night trying to fix one thing or another. Plus, it didn’t help that I rarely sleep well in hotel rooms.

The week I returned became a crazy mass of activity were one day melted into another. I literally was up until 1am and 2am every night doing work. It was crazy. Do you know what happens to a person who works too hard? They get sick. I got sick. But wait. There’s more. I had to plan my son’s birthday party. Trust me when I write that I considered cancelling the b-day party altogether that I seriously considered this, but alas, I could not do that to my child and scar him for life. So, I madly rushed around and got his b-day party figured out.

We celebrated his b-day early at his b-day party with lovely friends and kids. I am now at this point, getting even sicker. Without getting enough sleep, we packed our bags and left for vaction the next morning. I considered many a time whether I should simply stay home and not make the drive with my family and simply catch up later, but.. well, I couldn’t. With a trip that had been planned for many many months, and family travelling from afar to catch up again, I drudgingly made the trip as well.

I slept at the cottage. For days. At least that’s what it felt like.

We celebrated the little guy’s real birthday with family at the cottage. I coughed some more.

I thought again about leaving and going home to rest, but again, decided against it because I had my good hours. Really, I did.

I finally returned to my own bed, my own shower and my place called home, and when I woke, I posted to let you know I was still alive. Okay, perhaps I did a few other things first.

I am still sick. I went to the walk-in clinic on the weekend to get checked out by a doctor, and I am a-okay. I can easily predict what he would suggest – drink lots of liquids and rest.

Oh wait, I didn’t tell you the last bit of my stress – I have to learn new music for my fitness classes and I only started a few days ago. Normally, I give myself 3-4 weeks to learn it over time. This time, I have less than 7 days.

See. I’m alive. And that was my life in the past 3 weeks.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Holy Schnikey, you have been busy! Starting a new job, planning birthdays, going on vacation (and from one mom to another I KNOW how stressful getting ready and getting home can be,) being sick—Yowza! Any one of those things alone is stressful enough.

    Don’t worry about responding to comments (at least on my behalf anyway.) This is time to GET WELL, not worry about being super-blogger. We won’t desert ya. Just take some time to take care of you. Hang in there…

    Thanks Randi – I think you just taught me a new word – schniky – I like it! And I promise to take it a bit easier – Daisy

  2. Good God girl, take a rest, take it from one that knows. I ended up having to pack in my job because I wouldn’t take a rest and made myself ill.

    Oh, I won’t go there.. I promise to try to rest. I knew this was going to be a big hump, and that afterwards, it would get easier. I see the light at the end of the tunnel. – Daisy

  3. Perhaps it is the paternal instinct in me, as I really don’t know you, but never have I felt more like giving someone a hug. Look after yourself girl for your sake (and that of your family), your health is the most precious gift and nothing is worth jeopardising it.

    Oh, how very sweet. Really, I’m okay. Perhaps I desparately needed the hug last few weeks when in the midst of all the craziness, but even finding the moments to write now, though they are not as frequent, is a blessing and an indication things are much more ‘normal’ now – thanks for the very sweet gesture – Daisy

  4. I’m more of a jock in geeks clothing.

    Hubby

    DUN DA DUN DUN DUN! OH MY! You exist! Hubby exists afterall?!! Congrats on your first comment. And I’d say you’re more a geek in jock’s clothing, than the other way around.

    BTW, nice to see you here.. you come here often? – Daisy

  5. **Deep Cleansing Breath** Take care of yourself and hang in there. ((Hugs))

    tee hee, thanks Mrs. V.. I all of a sudden have a crazy urge to hug every single 4 foot kid I see between now and tomorrow and see how many scared parents I meet. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

