Posted by: Daisy | July 24, 2009

Broken telephone

Ever play that game?  I don’t remember if the title of the game is Broken Telephone, however, it’s the one where you start with a message or a phrase, and you whisper it to the person next to you.  They, in turn, turn to the next person and pass on the message in the same fashion.  Magically, when the last person in the line gets the message, the message has transformed itself into something that makes everyone near the beginning of the line giggle and smile.  Then, of course, you share what the original message was supposed to be, and everyone has a good laugh.

I got a serious message yesterday.  It didn’t occur to me that it could have been garbled between the doctor and her, but apparently it was.  It didn’t seem so funny anymore, now that the message was so serious in nature.  It’s downright scary that a grown woman can be so stressed that she can’t understand the simplest of messages and communications.  It’s also not the first time.

Next time I hear news from her, I just won’t react.  I’ll wait for true confirmation before spending any time or effort on false information.  I just don’t get how she lives life in such a state of confusion.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. She may live in confusion, but is she happy there?

    We used to call that game Chinese whispers

    Oh that was great! Yes, I think she is relatively happy in her land of confusion. It’s like someone else I know who always gripes and stresses about everything, but is only happy when griping and stressing about everything. – Daisy

  2. Yeah that’s Chinese Whispers over this way. I have no clue what you’re posting about, but can I just say its really nice to be reading your posts again. 🙂

    Well, I’ve never heard of Chinese Whispers before – I learned something new again! – Daisy

  3. Is everything ok?

    Yes, and no. Someone is quite ill, though not riddled with cancer like the messenger originally told us. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

