Posted by: Daisy | August 9, 2009

Another Life Lesson

I think I’m an intelligent person.  And I think I’m generally pretty street smart too.  So, when I fumble and find myself in a situation where I ask myself, how the hell I got there, it startles me that I did not see the warning signs.

So, I officially quit my job on July 27 – a job that I only worked at for a mere 6 weeks.  For someone who’s an extremely loyal employee spending multiple years at other organizations, the fast-track to failure in this last role surprised me.  My role was in sales for a dental company and although I knew it would be a transitionary role, I planned to be in it for at least a year or two, because, well, that’s just the way I see things – I don’t like to take advantage of people, or organizations and am never in it for the short-term.  I know that hiring and retaining employees is a pricey process.

My first clue should have been the lack of negotiating from the start.  I mistakenly believed the economy was such that even negotiations were out the door, and that employers had so much of an upper hand, that they just didn’t have to engage in that process.  I should have known better.

A great partnership, whether that is an employer-employee, business partner, or marriage partner involves a little, and sometimes a lot of give and take.  If any particular side has more, it never works out – partners will never be happy.

I believe that when it comes to signing any contract, neither party will ever get everything they wanted, but they will get some of what they asked for.  No one should feel that they got taken, nor that they got the upper hand.  Both parties should feel happy.

They didn’t budge on anything.  I should have walked away right then and there.

The next 6 weeks was generally the same thing.  They treated me like I was out to get them, and that I would stab them in the back the first chance I could get.  I could not be trusted with anything, and let’s be honest, I’ve had far more responsibilities in the past regarding revenue and reporting relationships.

They didn’t even have the decency to part nicely.  Okay, they weren’t horrid, but let’s just say if I were in their shoes, I would have done things differently.

The great news?  6 weeks of my life, sweat and tears (and I worked ridiculous hours for them) is lost and I won’t get it back, but I did get to reunite with someone I went to high school with through my travels in the industry.

I’m thrilled to be done with them, and moving on to people who actually do trust and appreciate me.

And on a completely different note, I’ve loved this cover since the first time I heard it – enjoy.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. hip, hip, hooray

    I second that! – Daisy

  2. Hi Daisy – sorry to hear that you are out of work but it also seems that you are much better off long term. You sound like you are in the right mindset so use that to propel the next chapter.
    Stay around those people who appreciate you and look daily for opportunity and inspiration – it’s always right in front of us if we are open.
    Missed your class yesterday if you were there – My wife’s family had a special memorial service for their Dad who passed last year. He was a pilot so they rented a small plane with his wife and the 4 kids and dropped his ashes in his favourite place, Lake Temagami, north of North Bay. Then, we had a big family meal and stayed in a lovely lodge on the lake. It was very emotional for Kathy and the family but they knew their Dad was with them every minute.

    Onwards Daisy,
    Cheers, Trevor.

    Trevor – sorry about your family’s loss – sounds like a very nice service and one that will be remembered.

    Regarding my gig, I couldn’t be happier. I’ve moved on to bigger and better things and thrilled as peaches to be working on something that is far better aligned. – Daisy

  3. Oh boy, you’ve managed to put a positive spin on something pretty crappy. And given us a top tune to boot.
    Really sorry to hear of your work woes, but good for you for sticking up for yourself and doing what you thought was right. x

    Thanks Tara – Hands down, it was absolutely the right decision, and I haven’t looked back since. It’s been so much better since I said Sayonara! Glad you like the song too. – Daisy

  4. Congrats on the big move. When you know something isn’t right for you, you just KNOW, and it’s better to get out sooner than later. We could tell you weren’t happy, mainly because you weren’t here, on your blog. I’m so glad that heavy weight has been removed and you can go on. It’s not easy to make that break and I’m so glad you knew when it was time to say “no more.” Yay for Daisy!

    thanks Randi – yeah, thrilled to be out – I’m still struggling a little to find time for here, but this go around, I’m the one deciding how much time I’m devoting – I just happen to be having a lot of fun so I’m spending a lot of time there (and less here). – I will be back with lots more regularity. – Daisy

  5. I think you made the right decision. Your former working environment sounds absolutely toxic.

    I hope your next move is one that is fulfilling rather than draining.

    I love that word ‘toxic’ – I’ve used it extensively and it describes those environments to a T. Thanks Mrs. V, I have much higher hopes for this next move – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

