Posted by: Daisy | September 16, 2009

Teacher, Teacher

Is it wrong to say that you love your son’s teacher? I spent merely a few minutes (call it 10 or 15 minutes) with her last week (the first week of school) when I dropped by unannounced and she graciously came out to meet with me.

I can only write in a few short words how incredibly relieved I am knowing my son is in fully capable and fabulous hands. Not only did she ‘get’ my son in a very short amount of time, she recognizes quite simply what his strengths are, and how to deal with him in an accepting way to ensure growth. He thinks she’s pretty cool too. Is it wrong for a mother and son to love the son’s teacher?

Hang on to your seats. I’m meeting her tomorrow since she’s put together a growth plan for my boy. She’s barely had him for 2 weeks of school, and she’s got a growth plan to share with me so that we can be consistent. Can she get any more lovable than that?

Darn it, why didn’t I have a teacher like her when I was young?

On a completely different note, I am left wondering (aloud) why I didn’t get a single comment from my recent post to myself at 19. Was it *that* unengaging if there is such a word?

– Daisy

Responses

  1. “The most important thing in life is to learn how to give out love, and to let it come in.” – Morrie Schwartz, Tuesdays with Morrie

    Gerry, you are always consistent. 🙂

  2. I love it that you love your son’s teacher! I am a teacher and I am completed beyond belief when a parent expresses appreciation for what I do.

    Regarding your post “Dear Daisy at 19” I can only say this: I’ve been given a second chance! I actually wanted to post at the time, but had just been really busy with planning my son’s birthday, getting him ready for the start of school, and getting myself ready for all my classes as a teacher. I read the list and was picking out my favorites, when another post came out. I commented on that one, thinking that I would go back and comment on the “19” post a little later. Never happened. But now, you brought it up, so I can comment now without feeling like it’s old news!

    #4–As a teacher, I love this one. You are so correct–grades only measure how good you are at taking tests. And only one kind of test at that. That’s what I try to get across to my son, and my students.

    #6–The greatest explorers were thought to be crazy. I always tell my students to think outside the box, and I try to reward creativity whenever possible.

    #10–Yes! Traveling is the greatest education you can receive.

    #14–And smile even at those who don’t deserve it. You never know what they have repented of.

    #16–One of the best pieces of writing advice I’ve heard was “Write. If you want to be a writer, then write. That’s what writers do.”

    They all were great tips, but the above ones are the ones that stood out to me. Thanks for prompting me to still respond, even though weeks have passed. 🙂

    I only love great teachers.. I myself can count on one hand the great teachers I had while growing up. In fact, the total number was 2 which I think is pretty sad. Perhaps there are more great ones now as we realize that we’re all unique individuals with different strengths and weaknesses, along with different learning styles. I didn’t know you were a teacher.. but of course it doesn’t surprise me. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

