Posted by: Daisy | September 18, 2009

Excerpts from Robert Brault

A while back, I was so stunned when Robert Brault took one of my posts on 45 life lessons, turned around and felt challenged to write 46 new thoughts on this and that.

I have always appreciated the succinct way he got his message across, while I wandered the long way. Today, I feel compelled to share a few of my favourites while sharing my yellow-brick-road thoughts.

All quotes are from Robert Brault.

“3. Sometimes you must fail small to achieve large.”
I dislike the word failure because it has negative connotations. I have “failed” many times and yet, it is with failure that I have been able to learn some pretty cool things which in turn have become huge successes. Sometimes, I think you even have to fail large to really get hit over the head with the lesson.

“8. A child seldom needs a good talking to as a good listening to.”
That is true for adults too.

“12. When life takes the wind out of your sails, it is to test you at the oars.”
Oh, is THAT what it’s for?!! πŸ™‚

“15 Most people are better than we judge, for we do not know the temptations they have overcome.”
I must remember this next time when I judge someone.

“21. The Lord gives us friends to push us to our potential β€” and enemies to push us beyond it.”
That explains something, but I’m not sure it’s right… either I’m full of myself, or I have lots of enemies, or both. Perhaps I just didn’t realize I could do the things I have done, until after they were done.

“22. To fail is merely to discover a task that takes more than one effort.”
“23. For every couple brought together by Fate, another is brought together by Mischief.”
Both of these just make me smile.

“33. The friend you lie for has a liar for a friend.”
Oh dear.

“35. Every advance in civilzation started with a stupid question.”
Well that explains it, too. I’m full of those it seems.

“36. The first test of a good idea is that somebody thinks it foolish.”
Oh yeah, I get that a lot too.

Thank you so much RB.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. 33 ooops, never covering for anyone again.

    I like number 22

    and 36, all the time for me

    Yeah, number 33 made me really rethink it.. hmmm – Daisy

  2. Daisy,

    You are trifling with trifles here, but I suppose I deserve it for cluttering your comments section with such stuff. It is my belief, btw, that if an aphorism requires comment, it is automatically disqualified as an aphorism. To quote myself, “An aphorism is a single sentence that totally exhausts its subject.” In the instance of “When life takes the wind out of your sails…”, the subject is pretty well exhausted at mid-sentence. Anyway, thanks for leaving my comment in place all these weeks. I have an active link to it on my site, so it’s nice to have a target.

    smiles,
    rb

    HUH? Nevermind. πŸ™‚ I have no intentions of removing such a fine work of art. Thanks for putting it there in the first place. – Daisy

  3. Robert Brault is the master. I love reading his stuff because not only can he take a common life experience and reduce it to a few small words, but every word is true! Thanks for including him on your site. I have enjoyed going on his site and watching his list of followers grow and grow. He has coupled wisdom with humility and is one of the world’s truly enjoyable human beings.

    I could say the same of you – one of the world’s truly enjoyable – you’re always so giving in so many ways. Thanks for being you. – Daisy

  4. Randi,

    Now cut that out! (blush)

    rb

    Geez Louise. How about a group hug and let’s call it done, shall we?! – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

