Posted by: Daisy | September 27, 2009

BFF’s in the making

My crazy kid is playing outside. He made a paper airplane out of 9 pieces of paper. He tells me it is the BIGGEST airplane EVER. He’s playing with 4 other kids, all between the ages of 3-6 as they each take a few turns with the paper airplanes. They attempt different things, throw it into the wind, away from it.. everything really. Earlier, they were making a potion. And before that, two were playing with transformers.

They are so happy, it’s like a picture perfect scene out of a movie or TV show from another decade. Then, of course, there’s myself, sitting on my front step typing this, another parent sitting on his porch reading the paper, and the 5 kids between 3 houses doing their thing. These moments can sometimes make me quite sad actually. I never had this when I was a kid.

The importance of having a close-knit social network of people within walking distance, or should I say throwing distance, is priceless. I don’t have a crystal ball, but I’d be willing to bet a pretty big sum of money some of them will continue to be friends well into adulthood.

We’ve all heard of the parents who give their kids every opportunity they didn’t have, and get upset when the children have no appreciation of the sacrifices, and la la la la. You know the words. Perhaps you’ve heard others say them or said them yourself. I know first hand how upsetting it is for me, yet, how could he understand without walking through my shoes? Besides, he’s 6.

I think the best we can do is tell stories of other people’s lives including our own, when we’re calm, to give them an appreciation for the diversity of how people live and grow up.

For us who have already grown up, we have to suck it up about our childhood and move on. Although we may not have everything we ever wanted, we certainly appreciate the moments we have now.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. How true this post is

    thanks lom

  2. I was very lucky ion that I had a superb childhood that I cannot find fault with. In some ways I often wish I was back there. However that doesn’t stop me trying to make it even better for my children. I think we’re programmed that way.

    Yeah, I think you’re right. No matter what we had, we’re programmed to give our kids more. Just sucks the next generation never really understands and rolls their eyes at us eh? – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

