Posted by: Daisy | October 9, 2009

Smokes, this is difficult!

So, when I thought it’d be cool to write a short little story with the goal of passing it back and forth to Jono and continuing the story seamlessly, I figured, oh what fun. Little did I realize just how difficult it would be.

Let me begin to count the ways:

  • I don’t write fiction
  • I don’t normally describe things in detail (like they do in fiction)
  • I don’t normally worry about staying in the same tense
  • I don’t have a single clue what the story is about or where it’s going
  • I worry that Jono’s going to think I’m a maniac for taking his perfectly good storyline and going down some other strange path he wasn’t ready for
  • I worry that everyone else is going to wonder why the heck I’m taking a perfectly good storyline down another path
  • I worry that it’s going to be blah or disjointed and just overall, ehh because I’m going to be the sucky side of the partnership

OH MY. It just occurred to me – I’ve lost my confidence because I’ve ventured to a space (fiction) that I don’t feel comfortable with and darn it, we’ve committed to showing you our monstrous creation.

Just to give you an idea of what I thought when I read his first paragraph, “oooh, where should I go with this?  Is it a he or a she?  Who’s the other person?  What’s their relationship?  Should I surprise Jono with something completely off the wall?  Should I do a crazy, “meanwhile, halfway around the world” or should I attempt to follow his lead?”  Darn.  I can’t write like he does so seamless is going to be difficult.

I know, this is supposed to be fun, and it is.  Really.  I am just having a moment of vulnerability and I feel a little naked – I must have been smoking something to have not only volunteered, but in fact suggested this.  Someone wake me up and tell me it’s just a dream. Or, cover me up with some blankets and clothes please?

– Daisy

Responses

  1. I was going to say relax, you look great naked but then I thought that was inappropriate. Darn, I said it anyway. 🙂

    Seriously, please don’t stress over this. I have all the same fears as you. I have never written any proper fiction. I also worry what you will think. I was worried that you wouldn’t like my first effort as it was too clichéd. It is very hard to write something that I’m sure I haven’t read somewhere else before. But it doesn’t matter does it?

    We are two people who have never met or even spoke. We are are from two different countries, continents even. I’m pretty sure we are different ages. We are different genders. I know we have different life experiences. We have little or nothing in common. We are perfect for each other. Well for this anyway. 🙂 I love the fact that you can take this off at any angle at any moment. I don’t know the story either, I’m just trying to write something that I hope someone will enjoy reading (no guarantees though). Please don’t stress, I hope you’ll enjoy this.

    By the way, the non gender was on purpose. I thought you’d pick…You didn’t. 🙂

    My goodness, that was a big comment. Let me start by saying… yeah, the naked comment is definately inappropriate, yet it’s inappropriate things that make me smile and laugh. Honestly, I’m not too stressed. I do realize in my head that this really is fun, and will be interesting to say the least. It’s just in my heart, it only just hit me as I tried to write it, that all the anxiety and insecurities came out. It’s no big deal. Really. I’ve got far more important things to stress about.

    One more thing though.. I have the distinct feeling we’re far closer in age than you think. – Daisy

    • Well I’m glad you took it the humour it was meant. Ah, I’m not too good at guessing ages at the best of times, so perhaps I’ll just leave that one alone. 🙂

      Yeah, it’s best to leave the age thing alone! – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

