Posted by: Daisy | October 11, 2009

The writing on my other wall

There was a moment in time last year where I’d sit at the computer, and magically, something would seem to just appear.  I knew that I could never ‘will’ it to happen, and that it only came when it wanted to.  There were days where I’d post one post after another.  From one blog to another, and another, I just seemed to fly from spot to spot with ideas coming at me from all sides.

At this moment, I’m feeling a little regretful that I didn’t “do more” with that time.

I wonder if this is something that will come back to me at some point, or if that time is gone.  Will it return this year?  Next year?  5 or 10 years from now?  I don’t profess to be great at this, however, my attempts at fiction last year were far better than anything I seem to be capable of these days.  Ultimately, the joy I felt was in the process of actually writing and seeing an end-product that I read and reread patting myself on the back delivering something I didn’t think I was capable of.  My favourites are poems with multiple meanings and ideas that seem to resonate – whether the love is for a child, spouse, or anyone else.  Everytime I’d reread them, I’d think about it differently and smile knowingly realizing I did it.  I wrote in a way that could be interpreted in multiple ways depending on the reader’s experiences and even mood. 

Hell or high water, I can’t seem to put fingers to keyboard these days if my life depended on it.  So, for days/weeks/months like today, I can simply re-read one of my earlier ones.  How about this one – I think it’s appropriate given everyone has baggage.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. I love that poem! It’s amazing. I especially loved the way you wrapped it up in the last line:
    “How do I throw what doesn’t fit
    Without throwing myself out?”

    Whenever I feel on the edge of self-progression, when I am trying to overcome a bad habit, or a behavior that isn’t working, I feel this way. How do I get rid of something about me, without getting rid of ME? Perfectly said, Daisy.

    Thanks Randi for your vote of confidence and appreciation! 🙂 – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

