Posted by: Daisy | October 22, 2009

Getting hit with a 2×4

I am sometimes blind to that which is so obvious.  I am sure I am not the only one.  We all have strange perceptions of ourselves, our families, and our lives.  Sometimes, things are so ingrained into our lives, that we make silly assumptions until something magnificent happens, and the real truth reveals itself to us.

My closest friends have known all along.  Everyone assumed I knew what was clearly only inches from my face.  It would be as silly as finally noticing the colour of my hair and eyes.  You’d think I’d know from looking in the mirror for so many years.  Yet, there it is leaving a welt on my forehead as I come to the realization that I’ve been blind all these years.

Now what?  Perhaps with this information, I can finally begin to bridge between the generations as I begin to understand the degree to which some actions are conscious and controllable while others are less so.

Another bonus is that I’ve also realized my own ability to cope given my genetic tendencies has allowed me to pat myself on the back and remind myself of just how difficult an uphill battle this can be, and how far I’ve already come.  Yay me.

[My not-so-perfect-inside-voice-says: I need to write something far more uplifting]

– Daisy, who wishes she got hit sooner

Responses

  1. My Aunt was on disability all her life, lived with us, and became our second Mom. When I was 20, my other Aunt told me she has cerebral palsy, of which I expressed utter shock and disbelief. It was not apparent to me there was any disability. I had become so accustomed to her deafness, spastic movements and facial expressions, it was just part of her, and not some labeled disease.

    Exactly, it’s just part of who they are.. you come to think of them as simply the quirky Aunt – thanks for sharing. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

