Posted by: Daisy | November 26, 2009

I quit coffee

I quit coffee on Monday, November 23rd, 2009. I didn’t have a single drop. I was offered coffee and I turned it down each time. I saw coffee pots everywhere I went all seemingly begging me to take a sip. I mentally congratulated myself Monday night when I got through without one.

On Tuesday, I went to meet someone at a coffee shop. She was delayed and it was cold out. I could not sit in a coffee shop and not have a coffee? Could I? As I was paying for my coffee, she arrived and I blurted out that I was trying to quit coffee to which she replied, “So you ordered tea?”. Why didn’t I think of that? We chuckled and laughed about my coffee addiction, and moved on.

Tuesday afternoon, I took my car into the shop and was offered a latte. A latte is not a coffee, is it? And I didn’t even have to pay for this one. “Save me”, I thought, but no one listened including me. Instead, I happily accepted and savoured the drink as if it would be the last one.

Wednesday, I returned to the shop for another drink. Yes, I’m kidding, however, no I’m not. I did return to the shop, and I did have another latte.

Today is Thursday and as I type this, I’m sipping my coffee. Whatever happened to quitting? Tonight, I’m going to a concert with a friend, and I’m sure over dinner, I’ll be offered, you guessed it, a coffee.

Perhaps this week was not meant to be the week I quit coffee.

What I have learned though is that I have made associations with coffee in pretty much every social or professional setting. It has become very much ingrained in me, and I liken the experience to that of a smoker. In certain environments, it just seems natural for a smoker to light up. For me, it just seems natural to have a coffee pretty much any and all times of the day and unlike smoking or drinking, no one frowns on me when I endulge in my addiction. I don’t have to hide the fact that I’m drinking in my car or walking into a coffee shop. No one heckles me, no one discourages me. Instead, the friendly faces are always ready to ask me how I’d like my coffee – “hot, please” I think, though I answer “with two creams”.

In order to be successful, I know there are some little (and big) steps I need to take to remove myself out of the “usual” settings where I’m most likely to endulge, and certainly some of them are more difficult than others. I have to consciously sever or change those associations because a habit is difficult to break.

Before you think I inject the beans directly, just know that I don’t actually drink a lot of coffee compared to others – I usually drink one per day, some days maybe 2, and on the rare occasion 3. Although my consumption is not ridiculous, it is at a rate that my body is unhappy with which is what prompted my attempt to quit. Sadly, this is not the first time I’ve tried quitting (slowing down) coffee. Happily, I’ve been successful at this before. Coffee is an endulgence I enjoy, however, there is a limited amount I can have before it becomes a liability. I just need to get it back to a level that works for me.

Tomorrow is Friday. I’m quitting coffee on Friday, November 27, 2009.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. I have to say I read this with a smile on my face as I can relate to your problem wholeheartedly. I gave up smoking (it will be three years in January) very easily. I suffered two weeks of severe withdrawal and then it was fine. Despite a lot of heartache since I have never once been tempted and the smell now actually makes me nauseous (although I try not to be a hypocrite).

    However I used to drink way too much coffee. Nine or ten mugs a day and realised I needed to cut it out. I have been told that medically speaking caffeine actually causes way more problems than alcohol or nicotine but because the effects are more subtle and usually affect ones mental rather than physical state, it is not always recognised as such. I have had far more trouble giving up caffeine. I now drink around two or three a day and a lot more herbal tea, but the habit forming and smells are my greatest weakness.

    Ahh… the habits and the smells… did I mention I just finished another one about an hour or two ago? But that’s okay, I’m quitting tomorrow. And besides, I’ve probably got one more cup to go tonight after dinner. – Daisy (HELP ME!!! – sigh, I’ll be just fine. Tomorrow.)

  2. It might be easier without the 2 Tim’s cards:)

    Gimme a moment to pick myself back up off the floor… you don’t say?!!! I think you might be right. And look, you even got that in writing! (note: I changed your name)

    And while you’re here, take a look at these links.. they were the hilarious IT posts I was telling you about.
    http://www.e-clecticism.com/2009/11/twenty-things-programmers-say.html
    http://www.e-clecticism.com/2009/11/requests-from-it-department.html

    – Daisy

  3. Keep trying! I quit 3 months ago, and I attribute my stellar success to my many inglorious failures!

    3 months?!! Wow. It’s Friday, day 1 and so far so good. This past week was definately an ‘inglorious failure’ – Daisy

  4. As an avid tea drinker I can tell you that giving up coffee is a piece of cake. Now chocolate WITH said cup of tea on the other hand …

    Tara, Ahh.. chocolate.. I’m okay with that stuff….. I suppose I only like certain kinds of chocolate, and when I find out which ones, I try not to keep them in the house! – Daisy

  5. I don’t like coffee, chocolate biscuts dipped in hot tea then sucking the chocolate off, I could never give that up.

    Thank goodness there are no chocolate biscuits in the house! πŸ™‚ and LOM, I hope they figure out what’s up soon, and you start to feel better soon. – Daisy

  6. I have given up lots of things of late for health reasons, including my beloved beer, but have decided that giving up coffee is one step too far. I only drink two a day which seems moderate to me. Tea is no better for you.

    I don’t think you’re meant to give up coffee. πŸ™‚

    I don’t think I’m meant to drink as much as I drink these days. I gotta give it up cold turkey, and then I’ll be able to ‘start again’ and it’ll be a manageable amount that agrees with me – Daisy

  7. Thanks Daisy

  8. This was a very entertaining post! I hope you don’t mind that I was giggling throughout. I’m one of those people who have never liked coffee because I thought it smelled like liquid dirt. My downfall is definitely sugar. After giving it up for 5 years, I “fell off the wagon” last year and never got back on. I really need to give up the sweets. After the holidays.

    Hey Randi – I don’t mind at all that you giggled throughout. I’ve heard it said that if you can’t laugh at yourself, then.. I don’t know the rest of the quote. All I know is that I’m supposed to laugh at myself, and that’s what I did as I realized I was failing miserably – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

